Canola Oil Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
I used this for a raspberry tart and it came out perfect. The crust is tender and light. Everyone thought it was a short bread. Very quick and easy. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
Outstanding! I will never go back to a crisco crust. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carolyn

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2008
This cannot be compared to an ordinary roll-out pie crust. It is an entirely different sort of crust, very tasty with some distinct advantages. I used it to make a custard pie and it was especially nice because it did not become soggy like some crusts can. I like the bit of sweetness to it, though I'd leave that out if I were using it for a quiche or other savory pie. It is not "flaky" but it is crumbly which is nice. I'm not going to give up other pie crusts for it, but its definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2007
I use this recipe for all my quiches. I substitute 1/4 cup applesauce for 1/4 cup of oil. Everyone loves the texture and taste of this crust
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Kuala Lumpur, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2007
Excellent, I have my own raspberries and am always looking for new recipes to use my supply. This is truly a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by footel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2007
This crust is perfect - exactly what I was looking for! The only thing I did differently was add a bit of extra sugar (this was being used for an apple pie) and 2% milk. It was flaky and almost a bit crumbly, but came out of the pie pan perfectly. It's so easy and fast, too! It will be perfect for quiches with more salt/less sugar and for sweet items by reversing amounts. The flaky texture is perfect with a crumb or dutch top apple pie. This will be my crust from now on - easy, cheap, and relatively healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2006
This was so easy it was CRAZY! Within 10 minutes I had a pie crust ready to be filled. This was my first pie and it turned out perfectly. Thanks for a great recipe! (This crust does have a slight salty, savoury flavour, so if you're going to use it for a sweet pie add a little more sugar and a little less salt.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura-Jane

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Parksville, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Montague, Prince Edward Island, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2006
The crust was extremely easy to make. It came out great with pumpkin filling. The texture is nice. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NurseJanice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
Thanks I'll never be afraid to make pie again. And oh so light and crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2006
wow. this was SUPER easy and it was really really good. Flaky and delicious. I hate making pie crust and they never turn out right. I made an account on allrecipes JUST so i could comment on this one. SO easy! I made it for an apple pie (double crust) and followed someone else`s suggestion to make patties to put over the top. The top turned out looking quite patchwork when i was done with it but it baked up so pretty it looked as if the patchwork was intentional. I also didn`t have canola oil so i used some sort of rice oil (i live in japan) and I added more sugar--about 1/4 cup and only a dash of salt. It was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States