Cannoli Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
If I could give this zero stars, I would. This tastes nothing like any cannoli filling I have ever eaten. I used top notch Ricotta, replaced Amaretto with Almond oil (as the owner of the Italian bakery I got the shells/cheese from stated - only one drop! a tablespoon would have you gagging). I kept having to add sugar to get any hint of sweetness, going by other recipes I also added some vanilla to try and help it. Nothing I added to this even helped it come close to tasting like a cannoli. I tasted the filling from beginning to end, starting with this recipe and then trying to doctor it with others on here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: May 19, 2012
Lumpy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
Not an exact match to a classic italian cannoli, But excellent taste! I used it for a cupcake filling. Definately a winner at the holidays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
This was my first attempt at making cannoli filling. This was delicious! Super easy but very impressive to our dinner guests! I drained my ricotta in a strainer for a few hours before combining the ingredients. I, too, omitted the almonds and didn't miss them at all! I will definitely be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
I left out the almonds and cherries and used almond extract with water instead of the liqueur. I used Sargento's ricotta and I didn't have a problem with water at all. I made them for Christmas and filled the shells right before dinner. The ones that were left were still crisp and heavenly the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
Absolutely fabulous! I put in 1/4 tsp of almond extract and skipped the water, I like the extra flavor and a thicker consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ingrid Potter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2010
This was decent filling. I used everything the recipe said, but omitted the almonds and substituted the almond extract and water. The filling was very runny (I did not read the comments enough to learn to drain it.) but after a bit more sugar and refridgerating it for a while I got it to work. It tastes good, a bit TOO almondy for my taste, but not like a cannoli. I suggest you try it yourself
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
The flavors were there but the consistency was too thin for me. I'm not certain yet what I would do differently next time. Maybe more powdered sugar?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
I made this filling recipe (doubled it) with store-bought shells. I drained my whole-milk ricotta two days, and I used pure almond extract with water as per the tip (doubled this) and added it to taste, so the filling would not become too runny. Omitted almonds. It was delicious and a hit at my best friend's bridal shower!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
Excellent recipe. Will be making this one many more times. However, you must drain the ricotta for at least a day in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Caldwell, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Focaccia

See how to make a light Italian yeast bread with delightful dimples.

How to Make Ciabatta Bread

See how to make homemade no-knead Italian ciabatta bread.

Calzone

See how to make 5-star homemade calzones.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States