Cannoli Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
Excellent, I didn't have amaretto,so I substituted almond extract. Drained my ricotta for a day before I mixed with other ingredients. I made my own shells and this was a perfect filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
Good...very, very easy to make, but the ones at the bakery are better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbus, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
I was a little dissapointed with the original recipe. As written, it's missing alot of essentials. For example, you MUST must must drain your ricotta. If you don't, after about 5 minutes it will be a soupy mess. Your ricotta may not look watery, but when it sits it melts. Also, I added orange zest to give it a bit more flavor. Don't go too crazy, just a bit (1/2 tsp) to kick it up. Another thing I did that was REALLY, REALLY helpful when I had that soupy mess was add heavy whipping cream (one pint). I whipped it with my hand mixer till it could stand on it's own (careful not to over mix...becomes lumpy) and then blended that into my cannoli filling. It made it very creamy and even now, a few days later, its still thick. I would recommend adding a bit of vanilla as well (1.5 tsp) but, only if your ricotta is drained well. I feel like that's the only thing my cannoli's were missing. I got really amazing shells at Wegmans for about .50 a piece. Alessi Shells...was in the pasta section in my Wegmans for some reason.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whitehall, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
Great recipe, excellent taste! I didn't have the runny issue that some of the others had when making....Mine came out perfect. Word of advice, which I forgot...Don't fill the shells with the cream until you are ready to serve. I tried to make these ahead of time, put the mixture in a ziploc bag, so I could cut the corner and pipe it in but it looked to good, so I filled the shells. Made the shells a bit moist. Oh, and one other thing....I had to improvise for the shells, my market didn't have even the frozen shells, so I used the Sugar cones for ice cream in place of the cannoli shells. I know the real italians out there would probably run me out of town, but I think I liked them better, It filled the whole shell and was such a subtle difference in taste. Great Recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
OMG this is the recipe to keep, 5+++ stars. I used Sorrento whole milk velvetty smooth ricotta. I did not even need to drain this type. No almonds. I used 1/8 t almond extract and 1T water in place of the amaretto liquer. Skipped the cocoa powder, dusted with conf sugar and 1 cherry at each end!! I made my own cannoli shells with my pizzelle maker. AWESOME
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
the recipe was good but it wasn't sweet enough for me. also, i didn't strain my ricotta first and wish i had. i made the whole recipe and used it in the center of 2 9" layer cakes with homemade frosting from this site. it had some wow factor at a famliy dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by daveycooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wayne, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Hawthorne, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2008
This turned out amazing and I'm not even a huge fan of cannoli. TIP--drain the cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2008
Good flavor, but the filling was too thin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EROCK101

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
This filling is RIDICULOUSLY FANTASTIC! I could eat it with a spoon. I split the ricotta with mascarpone, it was to die for! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkecupcakequeen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pomona, California, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2008
Pretty good. The only flaw is using part-skim cheese, hence the poor texture. Use WHOLE MILK
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EndoMom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Panna Cotta

See how to make luscious, smooth, and creamy panna cotta.

Classic Tiramisu

Make rich, creamy tiramisu at home. Bella!

Easy Baklava

See how to make sweet and easy baklava.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States