Cannoli Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by UncleSlappy
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
This turned out great....!! I did add a 1/4 teaspoon of orange extract to add a little bit more of the true cannoli flavors, but other then that I will make this again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
Traditional Sicilian Cannoli Filling is made with impastata ricotta which is a thick ricotta not cream. If you can not find impastata put the ricotta in a fine strainer for about a couple hours
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carmella
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
I made this by the recipe the first time and liked the floavor but not the texture. The second time, I added 4 oz cream cheese,and replaced the almonds and cherries with amaretta. I blended it in the food processor and it turned out perfect. Similiar taste, much better texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
Pie was very easy and quick to make. Just a note - it took over 3 1/2 hours to thaw.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
It was okay. The recipe needs some tweaking. I always make a recipe following the cooks directions first, so I get a feel for the recipe. Just a few small changes will make this recipe a winner in my book!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fran

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Aiken, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Absolutely delicious! A few modifications - used whole milk ricotta; used hand mixer to make it smoother; no maraschino cherries or almonds; added extra choc chips; used a choc graham cracker crust & drizzled melted chips over top with fresh whipped cream as garnish. Unbelievable!! Absolutely making this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
Very nice. I have made this before and we also sprinkled a dusting of coffee powder (we have a burr grinder and ground coffee on the finest setting) on a few of the pieces. I liked this a lot. Easy to make and we all enjoyed the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aimee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
Didn't like texture of frozen ricotta
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
I love cannoli, so this was a must try for me. After reading the reviews I decided that I wanted to make it work and not be so runny, so I added 4 egg whites to the mix. I also eliminated the almonds (didn't have any) and topped the pie w/ pine nuts. Placed the mixture in a pie crust and baked it @ 350 degrees for about 40-45 mins. until it tested done. I allowed it to cool to room temp. and cut a slice. It held together perfectly and was very good, very rich, but very good. I would make this again. Thanks for posting :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2009
This is very nice for Easter. I simplified the recipe by cutting out all the extras and sticking to the semi-sweet chocolate chips. The most important thing is to DRAIN THE RICOTTA by placing it in a strainer lined with cheesecloth or some kind of filter, for at least one hour. The less moisture, the better. I would not recommend freezing this at all. It was a very sweet after dinner treat on Easter and the kids loved it. Next time, I would replace the chocolate chips with a block of semi-sweet chocolate and use a grater. I'm giving it five stars-- will make this next year at Easter again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cherry Pie with Almond Crumb Topping

Amazing cherry pie or incredible topping for vanilla ice cream? You be the judge.

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

No-Bake Peanut Butter Pie

This pie is rich and creamy, and so easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States