Cannoli II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
I used this recipe as a base for my shells and filling. I did not have a press so I had to add about a cup more of flour and one egg to allow me to roll them as thin as I could. I then deep fried them in 360 degree oil for about two minutes. Nice texture and flavor. Filling was good, just remember to drain the liquid from the ricotta and I added a bit of orange zest for some depth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
I made the filling exactly as the recipe said and it was runny. But the shells were really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
You have to drain the ricotta cheese first which this recipe neglects to mention so the filling runs all over the place. Secondly there is not enough filling to fill 24 cannolis. If you are lucky you get to fill 12 cannolis.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
My family love store cannoli's and when I found this recipe I had to try them. The fact that these are not fried, I wasn't sure if we would like them. I made the shell's with the pizzelle iron that I borrowed from my sister in law, not wanting to buy one if they where a flop. I also used to forks to roll the cookies with to save my fingers. I found that if you put the roller on the cookie and use the forks to roll and lift them off, it worked well. I used a different filling recipe from TreStella. We enjoied these very much, not the same as from the store, but good in there own right. Planning on making again for the extented family tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
I absolutely LOVE this recipe for the shells!!! Sure they are hot when you roll them onto the tubes!!! What do you expect when you are using a pezelle iron? But it is way less messy and time consuming than the fried ones. The trick is to roll them as soon as they come off the iron.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mora, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
The taste of the filling was great, but it was very runny and had sugary feel to it. I didn't see the previous posts about draining ricotta or using powdered sugar. Perhaps that would help. We didn't have or want to buy all of the equipment, so served the filling over puff-pastry shells (from freezer section, then baked). It was very good that way, and was a way to keep the runny filling inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2007
I am not a cannoli fan, but my husband is and liked these. I changed it a little though. I put a little cinnamon in the filling and drasined the ricotta. Also use powdered sugar instead of white. When finished, dust with pwdered sugar and dip the ends in choc chips or coconut. not bad...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2007
The filling was a little more runny than i like but overall it was homemade and the taste was wonderful. Will definatley make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2002
this receipe really flopped! the shells came out nie, if you have tough fingertips but the filling was way too liquidy. an overall disappointment!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2000
the cannoli filling was very liquidy i followed the directions as it was written. i asked the bakery man why is was happening and he aid "you must drain the ricotta for 24 hrs and use powdered sugar." i did that and it was still liquidy. i then refrigerated it and it was better. the only problem is that it was not thick enough to fill up the pazzelle shell. the taste was overall good...i just expected better because it was hard work
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SMURFF30

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pizzelles III

See how to make traditional Italian waffle cookies.

Biscotti

Watch how to make to make this top-rated Italian cookie recipe.

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States