Cannoli I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2004
I'm Italian and we use Powder Sugar in place of granulated in the filling, no citron, small choc. chips only & I do not like any flavoring. Granulated sugar will probably make this very watery. Do not mix items together until you are ready to fill the shells.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2002
The shells were perfect. However, I found using powder sugar was better than regular. I didn't use the Citron as I'm not a fan of it. Next batch, I'll eliminate the chocolate as well and use fruit like is in fruit cake instead, this was the way my Grandmother used to make it. I made a full batch of the shells and resized the recipe down to a few servings for the filling. I'm told shells will stay good for up to 2 mths while filling is only good for 48 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2002
Make sure you thin out the dough. Also you can use lemon peel instead of the candied citron. This is the tastiest ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2005
Ricotta must be dry, I drain in a sieve with weight on top over night, I also used powdered sugar as I think it blends better. The dough recipe actually made over 30 shells, I rolled them as thin as I could as they swell up and blister, only take 2-3 mins not 8. I used mixed peel/candied peel not citron but the taste was overpowering so you could not taste the chocolate or the original cannoli taste I first had as a teen, (just the ricotta and sugar and nothing else) I have just made another batch without the fruit or choc, next time I may use 1/2 cup choc and 1/4 cup peel as I think this may balance out the flavours better. I actually have this exact recipe on the back of an old box of cannoli forms made by hoan, I think the 8 mins deef frying was prob an eror and should read 3 as 8 mins would turn them black.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2006
I used the shell recipe many years ago. It has a better taste and consistency to it then the ones made with wine. Being Italian I did not follow the filling recipe because we use powdered sugar instead of regular white sugar. But over all everything came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2008
I bought the shells at the local Italian bakery. The filling was runny, I should have drained the cheese. A little corn starch thickened it right up. The flavor was great. I lucked out and found the citron at the Italian deli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Far Rockaway, New York, USA
Living In: Middletown, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KJones
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2007
I am rating the cannoli shells, as I made my own filling. I found the dough to be too dry, so I added an additional 2 tbsp. of water. The dough itself is pretty tough so you have to knead for at least 5 minutes before you get it to the right consistency. Also, make sure you roll them out as thin as you can, which is difficult because of the dough consistency. They should be nice and thin with a little bubbling. The cooking time for me was about 5 minutes, as I only submerged them half way in oil. The recipe itself is good. Nice flavoring, but I'm still on the lookout for the perfect shell recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KJones

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2006
My shells were a disaster - but the filling was amazing! I used mini chips, and powdered sugar as someone had suggested - very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2004
I'm sorry to say, but this recipe did not turn out well at all. I followed everything to a T, but the cannoli shells were thick and tough. The filling was way to sweet, and chocolate chips were too big. I think if I make this filling again, I will use the powdered sugar and perhaps mini chocolate chips. I will resort to purchasing the cannoli shells the next time. They are crisp and light. Sorry. . . :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
This was my first time making cannoli's and I thought that they were very good, just like i remembered having them as a child. I drained the cheese in a cheese cloth by separating the cheese into thirds and wrapping a piece of cheese cloth around it to form a ball and began squeezing the bottom and from the top alternately untill it was fairly dry, but, I wanted some moisture remaining. I also added more mini chocolate chips than called for, and some chopped pecans. I plan on making more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dnsecooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Minden, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pizzelles III

See how to make traditional Italian waffle cookies.

Biscotti

Watch how to make to make this top-rated Italian cookie recipe.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States