Cannoli Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
I made 1/4 of the recipe. That still yielded well over a cup. It just wasn't quite sweet enough and the texture of the ricotta was just sort of unpalatable to me. In the real dessert, the filling always seemed creamier to me also. Are they using heavy cream, mascarpone, not sure. It was also missing a hint of fruit flavor maybe lemon or something that I have tasted in cannolis. I don't think it is this recipe as I have tried similar desserts and dips that play on the cannoli theme, just eliminating the shell, and felt the same way about the ricotta taste and texture. It does taste better after it is refriferated though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
This was really creamy and delicious. And super easy to make. I might add a little kahlua next time to add a different flavor. It makes a lot of dip, so plan to share it! I served it with strawberries and italian cookies that had a vanilla flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
This is SO GOOD. I made it exactly as the recipe says, it's perfect just the way it is. I used my electric mixer to smooth out the the dip as the cream cheese was pretty lumpy. I served it with chocolate chip teddy grahams and they worked just fine. I can't wait to make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
Let me tell you something....I think the kids loved this almost as much as the adults. My friends 5 and 6 year olds loved the fact they could dip little Nilla cookies into this sweet dip. They thought it was the greatest thing. And the adults thought it was equally as clever and yummy. Its a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
I like the flavor of this recipe, I added orange peel to the recipe for extra flavor. But as this recipe is titled....it is a DIP. I attempted it for cannoli filling and it was a fail accept for the cannoli (pizelle) shells I made into bugles. HOWEVER, this recipe is tasty and we used it as dip and it was delicious! Looking forward to using this with Nilla wafers or taking it as a potluck type plate with the cookies OR packaging it nicely in mason jars and delivering along with my pizelle cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StaceyRae13

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yakima, Washington, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
Awesome sweet dip! However, no need to double unless you have 100 guests! (Voice of experience, have LOTS left over! Not good for the New Years resolution of eating better!!) I did add 1/2 tsp of almond extract just because I like it, but tasted before that and my rating is based on how it was written.Fabulous, guests loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MrsFisher0729
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
The flavor of the dip is fantastic. The texture was a bit thin for my liking but it was really good with Nilla wafers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
just plain wonderful!! I use mascarpone instead of cream cheese...both are great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terra-Matris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by LindaT
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
Nice treat.. I made this using fat free cheeses and it still was delish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Photo by Cookie734
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
I can't eat traditional cannolis because I stick to a gluten-free diet. This recipe is the answer to my prayers! Rich and delicious, this recipe will be added to my list of favorites. And it's so easy to make. This one's a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookie734
Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

PHILLY Buffalo Chicken Dip

See how to put a quick-and-easy twist on buffalo wings.

Crab Dip

See how to make a hot and creamy crab dip served in a bread bowl.

How to Make Crab and Artichoke Dip

See how to make a creamy crab dip baked in a bread bowl.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States