Cannoli Cream Dessert Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Lillian
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
Please use pure extracts, not imitation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitestone, New York, USA
Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
This was a pretty dessert. I put it in two small drink glasses. I added a couple of extra Tblsp. of powdered sugar to the cheese. I tried a little with the almond exract, but preferred it without. For some reason, when I was done with the layers I still had half of the graham crumbs left. My crumbs wouldn't come together, and think maybe they were expiring. I used 1/2, but honestly think I would have preferred much less. I liked the combination of the flavors of the sweetened ricotta, peaches, and chocolate. I would not have thought to put those flavors together and liked how it wasn't too sweet. The 3 together, only, with a little lite whipped topping would have been fine to me. Now, I just have to figure out what else to do with this ricotta cheese? I never have bought it before, it's actually not too bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
Mmhhh, so easy and soo tasty & fancy, will make again for sure
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
This recipe gets five stars. Made it as printed. We liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROSIE-0-TOOLE

Cooking Level: Beginning

Photo by Chris
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
Wonderful...a keeper! I made a few alterations....I used whole milk ricotta (I always do), doubled the ricotta and vanilla but only 1/3 C sugar and kept the almond extract at a shy 1/2 tsp. I used the 1/2 C graham crumbs but added 1/2 tsp cinnamon and used grated dark chocolate on all the layers and topped with sliced fresh strawberries. This is an wonderfully adaptable recipe and can be used as a base for many fruits by changing the spice/ flavoring! Thanks for sharing Lillian.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Duncan, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
Really really good. I doubled the mixture and mine turned out a bit runny but I used whole ricotta cheese because thats what I had and it was pretty runny (I blame the ingredient swap) so I threw in about 4oz of cream cheese to make it firm enough no problem after that. I also wasn't crazy about the idea of putting the chocolate on top of the peaches so I packed down all the crumbs into a pie dish and topped with the chocolate threw it in the oven enough to soften it and spread it around the crumbs it turned out kinda like a chocolate coated cannoli shell. It was loved by the entire family and really impressive looking for how easy it is to throw together I can't wait to try it with other fruit combinations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Photo by caseypoo
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
Excellent! I had a small triffle dish I made the dessert in and it came out very nice. Presented beautifully and tasted just as good. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by caseypoo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lumberton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
I didn't like this, but I'm sure I didn't do it right so don't let me discourage you. The only thing I would say is do not deviate from the plan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Limestone, New York, USA
Living In: Allegany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
Isn't going to be a keeper for us. Followed recipe exactly except I added in a few extra tablespoons of sugar like several reviewers suggested but it just wasn't sweet enough for us nor did it have enough flavor. Maybe more vanilla and almond extract would have helped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Ice Cream Sandwich Dessert

See how to turn ice cream sandwiches into an impressive ice cream cake!

Cream Cheese Squares

Flaky crescent dough layered with sweet cream cheese filling.

Cream Cheese Mints

See how to make sweet peppermint treats that positively melt in your mouth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States