Cannoli Cake Roll Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2005
I made this for a birthday at work. It got oohs and ahhs! In order to avoid the cake sticking problem other reviewers experienced; I didn't brush the liquor syrup on until AFTER the rolled cake had cooled and I unrolled it. I also substituted cherry liquor for the orange liquor in the recipe, and almond extract for the vanilla. I also did not experience my filling being too thin as others did. This will be a regular on my "special event" dessert menu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2004
This cake is delicious. I multiplied the filling by 1-1/2 so that I'd have more filling since that was the best part. Took it to a family party and it went in no time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Parlin, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Bear, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2004
This is a very impressive cake to serve to our friends who love the real cannoli!! Everyone was quite impressed with the flavor and appearance. I, too, found the filling to be a bit too runny so I sprinkled some white chocolate pudding (instant) into the mixture until it thickened to a spreadable consistancy. This also gave it another dimension of flavor. (I did the pudding "trick" the second time I made the cake. The first time I increased the amount of cream cheese to 8oz which also helped--but the pudding "trick" works the best!!) I'll definitely make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chesaning, Michigan, USA
Living In: Owosso, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2004
Making this desert is not child's play, but oh what a result! I found that using more confectioners' sugar helps some with the cake sticking to the towel, but once it is frosted, even that is not an issue. If you want something that is a)delicious, b) a little different, and c) will definitely make people RAVE about your baking, then THIS is the dessert to master!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2003
The cake is super and came out fabulous-- I agree with the other lady- I couldn't get the filling to come out thick-- what am I doing wrong-- I followed the directions- the ricotta was thick when I started -- Should I refrigerate the filling longer than 1 hour????? Would someone please email me and tell me what they would do-- I even added more 10x sugar- didn't help= Also I covered the cake with Raspberry jam to add more flavor-- it is in refrig now- can't wait to have some--- sue
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2003
I would like to say that when I decided to made this cake, I was very excited. I had a feeling that it would turn out perfect after reading all the great reviews about it. But instead, I'm very disappointed. After I wrapped the cake in the towel, and waited for it to cool for exactly 1 hour, I gently unrolled it, and the middle of the cake stuck to the towel, which then made a hole in the cake. I did use confectioners sugar before inverting it onto the towel, so I don't know what the problem was with the cake sticking. And another thing was that the cannoli filling was not at all thick enough from sitting in the refrigerator by the time the cake had cooled for an hour. It should have sat in the fridge for at least a couple of hours. But, in the end, even when the cake did come out looking bad, I ripped the cake apart and put the pieces in dessert bowls, and poured the liquid cannoli filling on top. It did taste good, so that's why i gave it one star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Avenel, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Lakewood, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2003
One word for this. IMPRESSIVE PRESENTATION! I sold the whole thing to one person JUST because of the way it looked! She said it tasted AWESOME! WELL WORTH THE EFFORT! Thanks for sharing such a great recipe! :-))))))) A+++++++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2003
Easy to make, and a great size for birthday parties. I altered the recipe a little bit by using cinnamon, instead of adding the cannoli. Tastes just great with a custard cream filling too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2002
I wasn't big on the taste or texture, but it looked impressive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: East Meadow, New York, USA
Living In: Redwood City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2002
this is worth all the work !! I have to make this every year for my husbands birthday!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Incredibly Delicious Italian Cream Cake

This authentic Italian cream cake is rich and coconutty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States