Cannoli Cake Roll Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2004
This is a very impressive cake to serve to our friends who love the real cannoli!! Everyone was quite impressed with the flavor and appearance. I, too, found the filling to be a bit too runny so I sprinkled some white chocolate pudding (instant) into the mixture until it thickened to a spreadable consistancy. This also gave it another dimension of flavor. (I did the pudding "trick" the second time I made the cake. The first time I increased the amount of cream cheese to 8oz which also helped--but the pudding "trick" works the best!!) I'll definitely make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chesaning, Michigan, USA
Living In: Owosso, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2004
Making this desert is not child's play, but oh what a result! I found that using more confectioners' sugar helps some with the cake sticking to the towel, but once it is frosted, even that is not an issue. If you want something that is a)delicious, b) a little different, and c) will definitely make people RAVE about your baking, then THIS is the dessert to master!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2003
The cake is super and came out fabulous-- I agree with the other lady- I couldn't get the filling to come out thick-- what am I doing wrong-- I followed the directions- the ricotta was thick when I started -- Should I refrigerate the filling longer than 1 hour????? Would someone please email me and tell me what they would do-- I even added more 10x sugar- didn't help= Also I covered the cake with Raspberry jam to add more flavor-- it is in refrig now- can't wait to have some--- sue
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2003
I would like to say that when I decided to made this cake, I was very excited. I had a feeling that it would turn out perfect after reading all the great reviews about it. But instead, I'm very disappointed. After I wrapped the cake in the towel, and waited for it to cool for exactly 1 hour, I gently unrolled it, and the middle of the cake stuck to the towel, which then made a hole in the cake. I did use confectioners sugar before inverting it onto the towel, so I don't know what the problem was with the cake sticking. And another thing was that the cannoli filling was not at all thick enough from sitting in the refrigerator by the time the cake had cooled for an hour. It should have sat in the fridge for at least a couple of hours. But, in the end, even when the cake did come out looking bad, I ripped the cake apart and put the pieces in dessert bowls, and poured the liquid cannoli filling on top. It did taste good, so that's why i gave it one star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Avenel, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Lakewood, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2003
One word for this. IMPRESSIVE PRESENTATION! I sold the whole thing to one person JUST because of the way it looked! She said it tasted AWESOME! WELL WORTH THE EFFORT! Thanks for sharing such a great recipe! :-))))))) A+++++++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2003
Easy to make, and a great size for birthday parties. I altered the recipe a little bit by using cinnamon, instead of adding the cannoli. Tastes just great with a custard cream filling too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2002
I wasn't big on the taste or texture, but it looked impressive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: East Meadow, New York, USA
Living In: Redwood City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2002
this is worth all the work !! I have to make this every year for my husbands birthday!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2002
I actually enjoyed the cake. It was not easy to make, but I thought the end product looked great! I was disappointed when no one at the party seemed to enjoy it. I followed the recipe very carefully, but I would recommend making sure that the crowd you serve it to enjoys cannolis or they might not be too impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WISHME

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2002
What a DELICIOUS cake! A hit at my son't 28th birthday party (he wanted something different!) . If you follow the directions, it's really not hard (my first attempt at a jelly-roll style cake). I felt like Emeril bakin' away!! I WILL make this one again. Thanks for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Incredibly Delicious Italian Cream Cake

This authentic Italian cream cake is rich and coconutty.

Kahlúa Cake Pops

See how to make cake pops with the warm coffee notes of Kahlúa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States