Cannoli Cake Roll Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
good instructions. recipe turned out just fine. use metal utensils where requested. do not stir in whites and flour, fold just until combined. cake batter should look like yellow marshmallow cream. try not to spend too much time spreading batter into jellyroll pan. its ok if it is not perfect. bake 10 mins and no more. your dish towel should be more like pillow case material and not like a towel. Brush the flavored sugar and liquor mixture lightly. just enough to cover the cake. you may have some juice left over. not too tight on rolling it up. i rolled mine up from the short side. (end zone of a football field) ricotta should be full fat and not part skim. you should strain the cheese by placing it in a small strainer then hover it over a bowl and cover the top with paper towel and place in fridge for as long as you can. i prepped the cake with the cheese and left it in the fridge (rolled up) until the next day. then added the whipped cream before serving. (the cake takes up a lot of room in the fridge) it was a fab desert. thanks so much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THOMJANICE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spring Hill, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
I was only looking for a cannoli filling recipe when I found this one- and it really delivered! The addition of the cream cheese makes the filling more stable, which is perfect for the wedding cake I am putting it in. As a professional baker, I can tell by looking at the recipe that it would be excellent, but my five stars is for the filling alone. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
Brought this to a potluck, was one of the only deserts EVERYONE had a piece of, and it was the only one gone out of 6 desserts by the end of the night. It's fairly light, and not overly sweet, so its great after a big meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
I made this cake a week before Easter and froze it without the whipped cream frosting. Instead of using cream cheese, I used 4 oz.(1/2c)of mascarpone cheese. I also chopped up 1/4c of shelled pistachio nuts and added them when I folded in the mini-chocolate chips to the filling.When I sweetened the whipped cream I also added 1/2 tsp of grated orange zest. I thawed the frozen cake the day before Easter in the Refrigerator and then frosted and garnished the cake on Easter morning. It sat in a cooled garage, covered for three hours before serving, and it was a big hit. My Son-in-Law said it was "absolutely delicious". I will make this again, and maybe add drained, paper-towel dried, and chopped-up maraschino cherries to the filling also, then it will really taste like my Grandma's Cannoli filling. Thanks for the great recipe! P.S. They have asked me to make it again when Family comes into town at the end of April. I know this will be a crowd favorite for years to come!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ellen Bancroft Ziegler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
This cake looks good. My suggestion would be to use drained fresh ricotta for the filling, and not bother mixing it with cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by julie vitale

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
I rated this recipe right in the middle because I did not like it at all, but my brother and husband gobbled it down. Maybe it's not fair of me since I don't like real cannolis, but I could not stomach this. However, the guys said it was delicious and that the filling tasted just like a real cannoli filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brookline, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
I always read other reader's ratings prior to making a new recipe. Adding more sugar, cinnamon and some lemon zest to the cream mixture was definitely needed. I also drained the ricotta in cheesecloth and then pulsed it separately for a few minutes before adding the cream cheese, etc. Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belle Mead, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Encinitas, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
Followed the recipe to the letter. The filling was very runny. I had to keep adding more and more confectioners sugar and doubled the cream cheese, before it was thick enough to stay in the cake. By then I'd lost the riccotta flavor. I don't think I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2008
The cannoli cake was a great dessert idea to serve. However, when I made the cake, I had a few things to fix about the cannoli filling. There really wasn't very much flavor in the filling. The ricotta definitely needs to be pulsed in a food processor, or the filling will be clumpy. I added about 1/2-1 tsp. of lemon juice, and it brought out a lot of the flavor. I also added more cinnamon. I also added some more sugar, because the cream wasn't very sweet. I wouldn't serve this to someone who is expecting a cannoli. It is reminiscent of the cannoli flavor, but not is quite a different dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by akadianne
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
Very good - pretty easy to make. I would like it if it had a stronger flavor. Substituted rum for orange flavor in icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by akadianne

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wales, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Incredibly Delicious Italian Cream Cake

This authentic Italian cream cake is rich and coconutty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States