Cannoli Cake Roll Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2013
The cream was what I was after! I used a white cake mix to save time. Yes, it wasn't the best idea for a purist. But my daughter's birthday was in the middle of the week. It was really good and I'd make it again but try the cake part next time. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RIELLA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Debbie
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
My first attempt at a jelly-roll style cake, and I was very pleased. I found the cake very rich. I served direct from the refrigerator, next time I would set out for 20 minutes before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
The cannoli cream is delicious and dead on, but when I combined it with the cake it lost its true taste. Cake is like a sponge cake and soaked up some of the cream. It's is still a delicious recipe, just not exactly what I expected from a cannoli cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
This is delightful! I strained my ricotta in cheesecloth, so the filling was the perfect texture. I will definitely make this cake again. Thank you Shirleyo for sharing your wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
I'm glad I made it because I got lots of compliments on constructing an impressive-looking dessert. As far as taste - The filling was awesome, the frosting was awesome, the cake: not so much. Nothing wrong with the recipe itself, I guess I'm just not a fan of sponge caked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
This was a great cake, loved by my husband (who doesn't like cake) and me (who doesn't like cannolli). We didn't have any orange liqueor in the house, so used fresh oj in it's place. I also used freshly made ricotta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
2 Things: Spray jelly roll pan, then top with parchment paper, then spray the parchment paper. Spraying the pan before the parchment paper goes down helps the paper stay in place, especially helps the corners. (2) For the frosting, the ingredients listed has 1 tablespoon white sugar, but there is nothing in the instructions as to where to use the white sugar?? I added it to my chopped pistachios before sprinkling on the cake. It just sounded like the right thing to do! Delicious cake roll!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cudahy, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sugar Grove, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Julie
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
Made this to take to a friends dinner party. Great cake - easy... but lots of steps. Worth it. Cannoli filling was way to runny, so I whipped cream very stiff then folded it into the mixture. Made it perfect and firm enough to fill. I also didnt add the whipped "icing"... instead I left the fold at the top (cake cooled stiff enough that it wouldnt unroll) and had some cannoli filling 'spilling' out the top... coated with chocolate chips and powdered sugar. Looked like it came from the bakery and tasted even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
I've made this a few times now and it always gets finished. Many requests from people to make it for them :) It's a great recipe that I will continue to bake often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
This is a fantastic recipe!! I had a slice of a cannoli cake from an Italian restaurant that is 2 hours from my home. I immediately knew I'd need to find a recipe for it because of the drive. This is it!!! I went to the local Italian market for ricotta. One of the owners said to use Whole milk ricotta, not the part skim which is what they use for their cannolis. Part skim is for lasagna. I followed another reviewers tip to drain the ricotta cheese. I think next time, I would roll it out on the short side, to get a better cake to filling ratio, or try rolling the cake around a rolling pin to cool (another tip from another recipe). I also used regular size chocolate chips that I processed in a food processor. I liked the shavings of chocolate throughout. I also used the heavy cream that is not ultra pasturized, from Trader Joes. Very nice cake, and very satisfying!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Upland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Incredibly Delicious Italian Cream Cake

This authentic Italian cream cake is rich and coconutty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States