Cannoli Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2007
These are the best cannoli shells ever. No one in my family likes candied fruit, so I left it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
I HAVE A QUESTION ON THIS RECIPE...or any cannoli recipe...Is it possible for me to use a pizzelle iron to make these, I just want cannoli chips, not the circular shell Thanks in advance, Laurie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
A fab 'Shell Recipe'. I have made cannoli shells for years. I often look for new recipes and this is absolutely the best. A bit tricky but not difficult to run through the machine. After chilling the dough place a lightly floured board under the pasta roller attachment. Large gumball size balls are pressed into a small pancake then patted on the board and run through the machine dusting with each increment of the rollers. On my KitchenAid setting 6 is thin enough. I lay the disc on the board and lightly oil a tube. (don't skip the oil) Lay the tube on one end of the disc and roll the tube. When you reach the end dab egg white on the flap and finish rolling. Lightly press the visible flap to make the line somewhat invisible and place in 350 degree veg oil for 2mins. Remove with tongs to paper towels and repeat. The previous rolls are cool enough to carefully slide off the tubes in 2 mins. I make only 2 at a time so there is a bit of a pace to keep up with the timer. It will take about an hour to make 20 shells. NOTE: Handle uncooked dough with clean fingertips. If your not organized you can get the pasta machine too dirty and difficult to clean. I keep the oil a few feet from the dough. I also made filling from cannoli-enterprises.com Many recipes to choose from. My fav has folded whipped cream. I'm just about out of characters so i will now say good luck and have fun.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THOMJANICE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spring Hill, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2007
Great recipe. I don't know too many Italian recipes that don't include Marsala wine so I used it, I know it serves a purpose. As for the citron I don't care for it in cannoli anyway so I left it out and used coconut on the ends or the cannolis just like the Italian bakery near me does and they tasted the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
Absolutely Amazing!! I was looking for a descent cannoli shell for my cannoli cream I make and what I got far exceeded my expectations!! Since I knew I was going to eat a cannoli, I wasn't to worried about the "Healthiness" of what I was eating, so I used lard instead of shortening... well because it makes everything taste better. By the way, trying to make this by yourself would be a nightmare. You need an assembly line... people will work for food! I call this the Italian version of the Tamale because the whole family has to help in this process. The one thing that saddened me was that when I stored them in an airtight container, the next day they weren't crispy like the night before =(, but my sadness was soon expelled with a little oven toasting, which brought them right back up to its fresh, crispy self!! Thanks Lydia!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2005
Your Cannoli recipe is the BOMB!!!!!!!!!!! It's so tradional italian that is so good and these so like the ones my family and I have had. These are EXCELLENT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Thanks, Lydia Nacawa p.s. These were so good with the Marsala wine it pulled the flavors together!!! Five stars *****
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
127 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2007
My husband has been wanting cannoli for a long time now. He cant have sugar and I thought that with out white sugar they may come out bad and not taste "AUTHENTIC" but we substituted loose equal for white sugar and the shells came out great. and of course the filling was easy to substitue with equal and it tasted just like he remembered when he was a kid. Thanks for the recipe. We will make these again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2009
This is a home run! Well at least the filling I had to make them fast and bought the shells didn't have the time to make the shells. I also made a second type based off of your recipe I substituted Neutella in place fo the powedered sugar and white chips... Not "AUTHENTIC" but very tasty and your awsome recipe made it possible. Also way better then the pricy ones you get here in NJ that arent very good you got to cross a bridge to get a decent cannoli at bst, but not when you have this recipe!!!! Thank you I used them as party favors went over HUGE!!!! Again a home run
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Voorhees, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2005
Please note that when I submitted this recipe, I indicated grated citrus peel to taste and barely 1/2 to 1 cup of powdered sugar, again to taste. My submission did not include the "one cup of candied citron"... I'll assume that the editors added this in error. With regards to rolling the dough, I found that paper-thin was too difficult to achieve with a rolling pin and was happy to have the pasta machine available. I agree with the previous review that if you don't get the pastry thin enough the results will disappoint. I'm sure that those trying to tackle this type of pastry have their own tricks up their sleeves, eveyone finds their best methods. I do hope that those few tricks I included will help first-timers get good results. Good luck and good eating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
273 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
Oh my GOD. These were so good. They take some time, but are fun to make with friends. I think it would be hard to make these by your self. Everything blended well. I WILL BE MAKING THESE AGAIN! I added nutmeg and didn't add the citron. It turned out great. I also drizzled chocolate over them.. WOW, you wont be able to stop eating them… These are fancy and very impressing looking to serve to guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by strayredbolt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Pizzelles III

See how to make traditional Italian waffle cookies.

Biscotti

Watch how to make to make this top-rated Italian cookie recipe.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States