Cannoli Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
Great recipe! Delish! I just wish I had a pasta roller! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mariela Does Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
I used another recipe for the shells that I love, so I only made the filling, but I had to add 1-1/2 t. vanilla and tripled the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
Amazing dough recipe. My pasta roller has 6 settings, next time I'll only go up to 5 and then hand roll them after cutting so that they're a little oblong. I wasn't able to deep fry, so I baked them in a convection oven @ 400 - it worked great. Dust 1 side of the shell with flour, wrap around form, then lightly brush oil on the outside with a pastry brush (I actually used the back of a spoon). Just a couple minutes and they're perfect! I also changed up the filling a bit: 2 c. warm milk + 6 Tbsp. flour (mix well & cook for 15 mintues). Cool to room temp. Add ricotta, chocolate, powdered sugar (I used 3/4 c.) + 1 Tbsp vanilla. Whip for 10 mintues w/elec. mixer Chill then fill. I didn't add citrus zest, but will next time. I'm from the east side of Detroit with a TON of Italian bakeries. Best cannoli in town is from Giuseppes and this is pretty close.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bloomfield Hills, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
A great recipe to be sure. BUT, I find that the ricotta where I live is WAY to thin. I strained it over night in a sieve lined with a few layers of coffee filters (it's what I had on hand). and a heavy plate on top. The Cheese needs to be fairly dry and firm. Again a great recipe thank you Lydia.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
well i made it :/...it wasn't that great..didn't like the filling..i think a lighter sweeter filling would have made this alot better..the dough wasn't bad though..i had to keep on rolling it so it got thin enough and fried up real nice..i will use the dough again but not the filling :o
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by goldina's recipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
Fantastic shell recipe, the marsala gives it an incredible flavor. We went ahead and rolled out the dough, and even with a LOT of rolling, it really isn't possible to get it perfect without a pasta machine, but it still came out really good. My only complaint is that the filling recipe neglects one very important step: drain the ricotta first! If you just follow this recipe, the filling can be very wet and it doesn't stay inside the shells, you need to strain the ricotta first to remove some liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
What a fabbbbulous recipe! Making the dough was a piece of cake...and I was ALONE! It sounds intimidating, but one does NOT need a whole family or neighborhood to get involved, although it could be a little more fun. Firstly, I mixed all the dry ingredients in my food processor for 10 sec. (I also added 1/2 tsp of cocoa powder), then added the 3 tbsp of lard and pulsed for another 10 sec. In a separate container, I mixed all the wet ingredients and the eggs together. Through my food processor hole, I slowly added the liquid mixture while the processor was running. Once all the liquid was combined, I let the processor run for appx another minute until all the ingredients formed into a ball. Pulled the dough out, and kneaded for 2-3 min then covered with plastic and threw the dough in the fridge for an overnight rest. Voila...I bought a pasta roller attachment for my Kitchen Aid to flatten the dough and it worked like a breeze. The end result was wonderful. The cannoli had a beautiful smell from the marsala wine. I filled some of the cannolis with the ricotta filling ( I used fresh ricotta - not the impatasta bcuz I cannot find any in Quebec, Canada), and others with homemade gelato. For the ricotta filling, I also added a few tbsp of mascarpone as suggested and it gave the filling a nice smell as well. Thank you so much for sharing this great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
This is a good recipe, however I'm just not a fan of pure ricotta filling.. When I was a kid my grandma who was from Italy made cannoli for me on special occasions and she always used mascarpone cheese. I personally think it makes for a deeper, creamier cannoli filling, but maybe I'm just biast to grandma :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arci

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
These came out wonderful. I made my own adjustments to the ricotta filling to taste. But I followed the shell recipe exactly and it was 5 stars by itself. Really wasn't as difficult as it thought it would be. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
I wanted to share how much fun my daughter and I had, making these. She found your recipe while looking for an "authentic Italian" dessert to make/contribute to her fifth grade class, for a unit they are studying. Impetuous bakelette that she is, she didn't fully read ALL your tips... We recovered. :-D She added a bit more sugar/choco-chips to the filling (MOM! My class won't LIKE it, if I DON'T!), and I fashioned the needed tubes by rolling tin foil around a small wooden rolling pin I have. PERFECT. The pastry is a bit "bready" (over kneading/rolling, as we have no pasta machine), But YUMMY, just the same. THANK YOU. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Celeste

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pizzelles III

See how to make traditional Italian waffle cookies.

Biscotti

Watch how to make to make this top-rated Italian cookie recipe.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States