Cannoli Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2005
Way too much citron, it takes away from the cannoli cream taste if all you can taste is citron, peel, fruit etc, no need for the wine in the shell recipe. needing a pasta machine for the thinnest setting is a bit much to ask, you hsould just say how thick the dough should be and people can roll it out. You must have the dough as thin as you can manage it so that it bubbles and blisters or it will be like cardboard
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2005
Please note that when I submitted this recipe, I indicated grated citrus peel to taste and barely 1/2 to 1 cup of powdered sugar, again to taste. My submission did not include the "one cup of candied citron"... I'll assume that the editors added this in error. With regards to rolling the dough, I found that paper-thin was too difficult to achieve with a rolling pin and was happy to have the pasta machine available. I agree with the previous review that if you don't get the pastry thin enough the results will disappoint. I'm sure that those trying to tackle this type of pastry have their own tricks up their sleeves, eveyone finds their best methods. I do hope that those few tricks I included will help first-timers get good results. Good luck and good eating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
281 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2005
Your Cannoli recipe is the BOMB!!!!!!!!!!! It's so tradional italian that is so good and these so like the ones my family and I have had. These are EXCELLENT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Thanks, Lydia Nacawa p.s. These were so good with the Marsala wine it pulled the flavors together!!! Five stars *****
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
139 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2007
These are the best cannoli shells ever. No one in my family likes candied fruit, so I left it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2007
Great recipe. I don't know too many Italian recipes that don't include Marsala wine so I used it, I know it serves a purpose. As for the citron I don't care for it in cannoli anyway so I left it out and used coconut on the ends or the cannolis just like the Italian bakery near me does and they tasted the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2007
My husband has been wanting cannoli for a long time now. He cant have sugar and I thought that with out white sugar they may come out bad and not taste "AUTHENTIC" but we substituted loose equal for white sugar and the shells came out great. and of course the filling was easy to substitue with equal and it tasted just like he remembered when he was a kid. Thanks for the recipe. We will make these again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
I loved the ricotta filling, but I added a small amount of vanilla, 1 teaspoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
119 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annamaria Settanni McDonald

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, Ohio, USA
Living In: Parma, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2008
The shell was recipe was excellent. I had to add a couple of Tbs of water to get my dough to come together. But it did nicely. The narrowest sitting on my manual pasta machine cranked out shells that were blistering and crunchy, but also fragile. I might try the 2nd to narrowest setting the next time around. I also opted out of adding citron. Instead, I mixed in a tad amount of vanilla and almond extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ammelyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Aubrey Iacobelli
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
The shells came out SO good!! I was very pleased. I DID add a tad more sugar, just because I tend to do that, but that's just me. Also, the wine was the PERFECT touch to bring the flavors together. The filling, on the other hand was tasty, but not firm enough to pipe well into the shells. (It came out quite a mess, so I ended up scooping the filling with the shells in the end, since this was a trial run for me.) I would HIGHLY recommend draining the ricotta overnight BEFORE you begin this process, and you'll end up much happier. I also added some vanilla, and left out the citron in place of mini chocolate chips, since I'm not a fan of citron. :D All in all, this was a success for me, and Pop will be pleased when I come home for Christmas and make him this treat. Thanks!! Note: The shell making is NOT a one-person job. I did it (and nearly set the dorm on fire MANY times) so it's POSSIBLE, but way easier and more fun if you have someone rolling and forming the dough around the tubes, while someone else is frying them and then removing the shells, since they take around 30 seconds to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aubrey Iacobelli

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Weston, Florida, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
I used just the filling and filled store purchased Cannoli shells. I made the filling using just a little lemon and orange peel, as suggested. While they tasted good, the texture was a little gritty. The next day, after sitting in the refrigerator they did taste better. I think I might have taken out too much liquid from the Ricotta cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lindenhurst, New York, USA
Living In: Avon Lake, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pizzelles III

See how to make traditional Italian waffle cookies.

Biscotti

Watch how to make to make this top-rated Italian cookie recipe.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States