Cannoli Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
The cannoli shells I made from this recipe were excellent! For want of a pasta mangle, I had to roll the dough out by hand. I can see how the crispiness would be improved if the shells had been thinner, but for the record, I was at least able to get the suggested number of shells (30). I would recommend a little cocoa powder, but otherwise the shell recipe was perfect. I made some modifications to the filling recipe: 1/2 tsp each of vanilla and almond extracts, a little citrus zest (as Lydia recommends in her review), and drained ricotta. (I put the ricotta on a coffee filter in a colander over a bowl, covered it with plastic wrap, and placed a bowl on top to press the liquid through. The whole apparatus sat in the fridge overnight.) I find this makes the filling less runny when it needs to sit out for some time, e.g. at the dessert table of a pot luck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
This recipe is fabulous! I love to bake and recently decided to try my hand at making cannoli. I originally tried a recipe that came out horrible. The dough was like elastic and incredibly hard to roll out. This recipe is the exact opposite. I feel the thing that made it so easy was using my pasta maker. This was the first time I had ever used a pasta maker so once I realized that you need to flour the dough after every pass through the machine, it went very smoothly. The only things I would suggest are the possibility of adding a bit more sugar to the filling, but that is all a matter of personal taste. I prefer my cannoli a little more on the sweeter side. And DEFINITELY let the cheese sit over night to remove excess moisture. This made a huge difference. I will definitely be holding on to this recipe for many many future batches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
This was soo good! The dough recipe turned out great. I added lemon rind instead of the orange to the filling and it was great! This is a two person recipe though; I rolled the dough and my husband deep fried and it worked out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aaronruby

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
This was an AMAZING cannoli recipe! I've been on the hun for the perferct cannoli and the shell is more than i can ask for! The filling was a little sweet for me but I guess I added more than half a cup, oh well the shells are delicious and i will DEFINITLY be using this recipe again. P.S. The thinner you roll out the dough for the shell, the better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by i-eat-cookies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boulder, Colorado, USA
Living In: Highlands Ranch, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2010
I too have found this recipe worthy of praise. The only change I would make is that when dealing with pastry type doughs such this one....always sprinkle rolling or kneading area with more 10x sugar then flour. This will add to the crispness and lessen the sometime pasty texture that flour alone gives. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
Excellent shell. I didn't have cannoli tubes so instead I rolled out the dough (with a roller. Takes a lot of work but it's doable) and cut out small circles with the top of a drinking glass. I put a couple fork marks through each circle because they seemed to be puffing up quite a bit in the first round. Filling is good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
Good job...just a couple of things..I add 2 tsp. vanilla and 3 drops cinnamon oil (not powdered cinnamon, which is a different taste) to the filling to get that authentic bakery taste. I like to use part candied citron and part orange peel. A few tsb. cocoa and a little extra sugar to taste and you have an amazing chocolate filling. Lastly, it's worth it to try and get the *real* ricotta, ricotta impastata, which is different from regular/supermarket ricotta. Much drier. If you have an outlet near you that makes fresh ravioli they might sell you some. Otherwise I drain whole milk supermarket ricotta a few days and sometimes add some dry milk powder to thicken it up, but nothing beats the impastata. I also roll out the dough by hand, you don't need a machine..good exercise! Admittedly the machine makes it easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
This is a great recipe! I altered it a bit using Frangelico liquer and Italian cinnamon. Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
A fab 'Shell Recipe'. I have made cannoli shells for years. I often look for new recipes and this is absolutely the best. A bit tricky but not difficult to run through the machine. After chilling the dough place a lightly floured board under the pasta roller attachment. Large gumball size balls are pressed into a small pancake then patted on the board and run through the machine dusting with each increment of the rollers. On my KitchenAid setting 6 is thin enough. I lay the disc on the board and lightly oil a tube. (don't skip the oil) Lay the tube on one end of the disc and roll the tube. When you reach the end dab egg white on the flap and finish rolling. Lightly press the visible flap to make the line somewhat invisible and place in 350 degree veg oil for 2mins. Remove with tongs to paper towels and repeat. The previous rolls are cool enough to carefully slide off the tubes in 2 mins. I make only 2 at a time so there is a bit of a pace to keep up with the timer. It will take about an hour to make 20 shells. NOTE: Handle uncooked dough with clean fingertips. If your not organized you can get the pasta machine too dirty and difficult to clean. I keep the oil a few feet from the dough. I also made filling from cannoli-enterprises.com Many recipes to choose from. My fav has folded whipped cream. I'm just about out of characters so i will now say good luck and have fun.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THOMJANICE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spring Hill, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
Oh my GOD. These were so good. They take some time, but are fun to make with friends. I think it would be hard to make these by your self. Everything blended well. I WILL BE MAKING THESE AGAIN! I added nutmeg and didn't add the citron. It turned out great. I also drizzled chocolate over them.. WOW, you wont be able to stop eating them… These are fancy and very impressing looking to serve to guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by strayredbolt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pizzelles III

See how to make traditional Italian waffle cookies.

Biscotti

Watch how to make to make this top-rated Italian cookie recipe.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States