Cannoli Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
I wanted to share how much fun my daughter and I had, making these. She found your recipe while looking for an "authentic Italian" dessert to make/contribute to her fifth grade class, for a unit they are studying. Impetuous bakelette that she is, she didn't fully read ALL your tips... We recovered. :-D She added a bit more sugar/choco-chips to the filling (MOM! My class won't LIKE it, if I DON'T!), and I fashioned the needed tubes by rolling tin foil around a small wooden rolling pin I have. PERFECT. The pastry is a bit "bready" (over kneading/rolling, as we have no pasta machine), But YUMMY, just the same. THANK YOU. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Celeste

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
I love it!! since I dont drink alcohol, I use milk instead of masala wine and added a teaspoon of lemon zest. I also added a bit more confectioners sugar for the filling.It turned fantastic! Definietly will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Camelia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
I made these for a christmas work function and they were a hit. I couldn't get enough compliments on the shells. Definitely glad I had a pasta machine, I think that is the key. So light and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
Tried making Canollis for the first time and it was a lot of fun. After whipping up the filling, I cut it in half and added almond extract to one, and sprinkled in freshly grated orange zest to the other one. ALSO we added almost 3 talblespoons Marscapone to the mixtures, and that really pulled it all together. Thanks for adding a great place to start.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.BJW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
This recipe had a nice flavor, but it was too watery. I would suggest draining the ricotta cheese overnight in a cheese cloth to get rid of the moisture. I also added Amaretto for extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
I just made this Jan 1, 2011 and WOW! It does take a lot longer to do alone and without a pasta machine but for a first time they were WONDERFUL! I made 34 from standard with 1 inch hole. and 4-5inch circles. I read the reviews first to see if people tried different things and the min. changes were great too. I make lots of fried dough so I went with the reviews and added 1/2 tsp of vanilla and 1/2 tsp of almond ext. after the Marasala and the shells were perfect. Fried in Veg. oil the thinner the better. For the filling, I used Ricotta Impastasta (also review recommeneded- can be hard to get-rest. might sell to you) its dry and didn't need to drain it over night. I also went with the suggestion of orange zest instead of the citron and they were delicious. I did 1/2 fill with zest and the other 1/2 chocolate chip. (which would be great with the orange zest). Note: Because I used fresh ric. impastasta from a farm I had to add a lot of confection. sugar stirring at 1/2 cup at a time (easier to mix at room temp) until I got it sweet...I ended up using 2 1/4 cup and it prob. could have used a little more but we liked it the way it was. THIS IS THE BEST RECIPE. We brought some Cannolis from local bakeries including a great Italian one and you couldnt tell which was which except diff. flavors...we actually preferred this shell to the others too. It might take be time consuming but SO WORTH the effort! YOU WONT BE DISAPPOINTED! Even the kids devoured them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
I have never made cannolis before so I used this recipe for the filling. I bought my shells at an Italian gourmet shop. I doubled the amount of powdered sugar as it wasn't sweet enough for me. I also added vanilla and put in more mini choc chips. I added almonds also. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
The cannoli shells I made from this recipe were excellent! For want of a pasta mangle, I had to roll the dough out by hand. I can see how the crispiness would be improved if the shells had been thinner, but for the record, I was at least able to get the suggested number of shells (30). I would recommend a little cocoa powder, but otherwise the shell recipe was perfect. I made some modifications to the filling recipe: 1/2 tsp each of vanilla and almond extracts, a little citrus zest (as Lydia recommends in her review), and drained ricotta. (I put the ricotta on a coffee filter in a colander over a bowl, covered it with plastic wrap, and placed a bowl on top to press the liquid through. The whole apparatus sat in the fridge overnight.) I find this makes the filling less runny when it needs to sit out for some time, e.g. at the dessert table of a pot luck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
This recipe is fabulous! I love to bake and recently decided to try my hand at making cannoli. I originally tried a recipe that came out horrible. The dough was like elastic and incredibly hard to roll out. This recipe is the exact opposite. I feel the thing that made it so easy was using my pasta maker. This was the first time I had ever used a pasta maker so once I realized that you need to flour the dough after every pass through the machine, it went very smoothly. The only things I would suggest are the possibility of adding a bit more sugar to the filling, but that is all a matter of personal taste. I prefer my cannoli a little more on the sweeter side. And DEFINITELY let the cheese sit over night to remove excess moisture. This made a huge difference. I will definitely be holding on to this recipe for many many future batches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
This was soo good! The dough recipe turned out great. I added lemon rind instead of the orange to the filling and it was great! This is a two person recipe though; I rolled the dough and my husband deep fried and it worked out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aaronruby

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pizzelles III

See how to make traditional Italian waffle cookies.

Biscotti

Watch how to make to make this top-rated Italian cookie recipe.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States