Cannelloni Florentine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2005
Amazing recipe... I couldn't find cannelloni so I used manicotti, which was just as good. I would recommend doubling the sauce and adding some red pepper flakes while in the blender. Also add lots of extra garlic! Other suggestion would be just to use another can of diced tomatoes (drained) instead of dicing roma tomatoes, and use frozen spinach. I also used half-and-half instead of heavy cream, which was fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2006
This was great, I used the over all idea but made some changes - used chicken mince (half a pound), spinach (frozen), grated cheese and italian herbs for the meat (didn't bother to pre-cook). The sauce - canned tomatoes, white wine (1/3 cup), garlic, 1 cup chicken stock, 2 tablespoons tomato paste, itlian herbs and parmesan cheese, simmered for 1 hour, add 1/2 cup evaporated milk when ready to use. Use an old icing bag and pipe meat into shells and top with sauce, grated cheese and mozorella cheese. I never pre-cook the shells, bake at 375oF (180oC) for 45-50 minutes and served with steamed vegies and garlic bread, my husband was begging for more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2007
yummy - would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mistie Dawn Boyd
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2007
I started making this recipe a couple of years ago. My ex husband and I were at Spaghetti Warehouse and he had their Cannelloni Florentine. He loved it and wanted me to make it for him. So we found this recipe on here and since then I have made it probably about 30 times. It quickly become a well loved treat in our family. I do a couple of things different. 1: I use sugar in the sauce and I triple the batch. I add just enough to give a sweet taste. 2: I add extra cream and cheeses. 3: When it is all done cooking I sprinkle Mozzarella cheese all over it and let it cook about 5 minutes more. Just enough time for the cheese to melt. I serve it with Fettucine Alfredo and garlic cheese bread. I highly recommend this recipe. You will fall in love with it. I have made it so many times that I don't have to follow the recipe anymore. Thanks Mistie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mistie Dawn Boyd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Abilene, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
Great recipe. I had to muck with it a bit, but only because my family eats low-carb. So, I used crepes instead of canneloni shells, omitted the carrots and replaced them with crimini mushrooms. I also used crushed tomatos in place of romas, but that's just because I was feeling lazy. It turned out brilliantly, though. I'll definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jeannine1976

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
This recipe is a new favorite for my boyfriend and I. I never follow recipes exactly so I made a few changes. Beef instead of veal, instead of roasting I just fried the mixture. I also use the noodles you don't have to pre-cook. It saves a huge mess. I also don't make a tomato sauce; I just pour a can or two of ground tomatoes over and it works great. Such a delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
WAY too much pepper! Don't use oven ready canneloni, it won't cook with this recipe. Double the sauce recipe or you won't have enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
I made this with Alfredo instead of with marinara as I can't stand tomatoes and that's what I normally do with Italian dishes. Other than that, I followed this. I have never stuffed cannelloni before - and apparently it just doesn't go well if you don't know what you are doing. I constantly had all the "stuffing" coming out the other end and after enough frustration, I layed the cannelloni in the dish and dolloped the mixture on top - kinda like a lasagna, if you will. So while I screwed that up ROYALLY - I did NOT screw up the flavor! It was awesome. I totally recommend the alfredo with this, too. I will try again in the future to stuff these right, but in the meantime think that I might rather just get shells and stuff those...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fontana, California, USA
Living In: League City, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
Fantastic. However, I left out the spinach. Most of all, I served it with a white sauce instead of a red sauce. The white sauce tastes better with the meat filling and also it's more tradional. Don't forget the fresh nutmeg in the sauce, it makes all the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by daveycooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wayne, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Hawthorne, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
I followed this recipe exactly, except that I used manicotti pasta and ground beef. My husband is not a tomato-based sauce fan, so I did not double the sauce like some reviewers suggested. This dish is delicious! I do think it is sort of involved and time consuming...but well worth it in the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pesto Chicken Florentine

Tender chicken served with penne pasta in a creamy spinach and pesto sauce.

Chicken Florentine Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, creamy chicken casserole.

Mini Penne with Sweet Peppers and Cheese

Sautéed onions and peppers are tossed with penne pasta, fresh basil, and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States