Cannellini Bean with Flat Leaf Kale Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2004
I started with a base of sauteed onions and carrots (in olive oil). Boy, was this delicious!! I added much more kale and used 2 cans of chicken broth. My husband didn't think he was going to like it, but he changed his mind quickly!! I will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Photo by stylistmama
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2008
This was great! I used low-sodium chicken broth (more than called for so it was more of a soup), extra kale, about 4oz turkey kielbasa, and half a can of diced tomatoes. I'll make this again for sure - so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stylistmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2004
I was tasting this from the pot and decided that it was just a bit too bland for my taste. I threw in a can of diced tomatoes and it tasted wonderful. That may just be me and my strong desire for taste. A fun way to use kale.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2008
This is an amazing recipe! I am growing kale in my garden for the first time - but didn't know what to do with it. Now I know! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2003
This recipe is dellicious and FAST! From start to finish, under a half hour with the only dirty items in your kitchen being one pan and a cutting board. I substituted chicken stock for the water. Added alot of richness. But I didn't use that much, so it wasn't a "soup". Just enough stock for a nice, rich sauce to cover everything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2005
I initially made this because I wanted a healthy soup, but was quite impressed with the taste too. However, this was only after I cooked the ingredients in chicken broth and added a splash of red wine vinegar at the end. My boyfriend and I really loved it, and it was quite filling. I recommend this if you want a delicious way to consume your greens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDS85

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2003
Extremely delicious and very fast and easy to make. It is one of my favorites now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
this is simple and good. i changed it up a bit to what i had in the garden and cupboard. cooked bacon in a 5qt cast iron dutch over then drained most of the grease. sauteed the onion and garlic in same pot, adding chopped kale and chard when the onion was soft. stirred it up a bit then added 6 cup water, salt, pepper, thyme and parsley. brought to a boil for a few min til the greens were cooked. then tossed in a drained/ rinsed can of kidney beans and topped with the cooked bacon(chopped up). that was it. easy peasy and good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
I love this dish much better than the soup. I use chicken broth and turkey sausage. I saute the onion, garlic and sausage together in a little olive oil until the onions are caramelized, then I add the broth, seasonings and kale. My sweetie calls this his healthy food and wants it when he is under the weather. I cook this with vegetable broth and without the sausage for my vegetarian daughter, who loves it, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2005
Wonderful soup! Added carrots and used chicken broth instead of water, otherwise followed the recipe exactly. We all loved it. Thanks, Sally.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: The Woodlands, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rustic Tuscan Soup with Kale

A hearty kale soup with white beans, bacon, tomatoes, and cheesy croutons.

Kale Soup

Spicy sausage and hot peppers star in this hearty vegetable soup.

White Bean Chicken Breast Chili

A flavorful chili that’s a little lighter with less fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States