Canned Spiced Pickled Beets Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
Beets are not one of my favorite root vegetables, but they have a reputation of being packed with nutrition and I enjoy them pickled. This recipe has certainly placed beets on the list of foods I will eat more regularly. It was easy to prepare, and the result was appreciated,...Nicole
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
This is the first time I have ever made pickled beets. They are so good I feel like a pro. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie High

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
Like another reviewer, I cook and peel beets first (easier to peel) and then cut. I put in hot syrup and bring to a boil before putting in jars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
This must be my mom's recipe. She has been gone a few years now, but made it every one of her 78 years of marriage. Now I make it with canned beets as I can't grow them where I live. There is just no other acceptable pickled beet recipe,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary H. Farley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
Wow...I just made these and tried a beet before I put them in the jars. If that is a sign of what is to come once we pop the jars, I can't wait!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
My first time canning beets. What a great recipe! My whole house smells delicious and they taste wonderful! The only problem I had was not knowing for sure how much 12 pounds was...no kitchen scale. So I ended up having to make more syrup as I had too many beets. But no big deal. Thanks for submitting, it's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tamera

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
i'm not a beet lover but my husband is so when we came into a couple of bundles of beets i thought i'd surprise him and try to pickle him some. well all i can say is wow. these are so good that i had to sit down and write my review right away. i scaled the recipe down to 9 servings and was alittle short on vinegar but with some minor adjustments they came out perfect. i didn't try the beets themselves but the juice was awesome. i got 3 pint jars and my husband is already trying to hide them so no one else can have any. this is definately a keeper and i will be doing them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamadrag

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arroyo Grande, California, USA
Living In: Auberry, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
Wonderful flavor for fresh beets, and very easy to make. I'll be making more and more cans of these annually.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
Flavors meld perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
I cook, peel and slice beets then add to hot liquid, bring to boil then ladle into hot jars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori in Hibbing, MN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blackduck, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Hibbing, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Pickled Beets

See how to turn fresh beets into homemade pickles.

Quick Pickled Eggs and Beets

This simple Southern snack is a cinch to prepare.

How to Make Pickled Asparagus

See how to turn fresh asparagus into delicious homemade pickles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States