Canned Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
This was alright but don't go out of your way to make it. If you have the ingredients on hand, go at it- it's good for cleaning out the pantry. But don't bother buying things special for this soup. It's a soup of convenience.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thanksalot

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Homestead, Florida, USA
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
Not bad for a soup that uses all cans. It makes a TON of soup, and it's almost chili/southwestern like. I tossed in some chopped little smokies to use them up, and they worked fine, so I'm sure you could substitute easily in this. I made it in the crock pot so we could have it for dinner without having to spend time cooking when we got home, and that worked well. I served over rice the first night, although I'm not sure why, bc I ended up with a spanish rice type mix, which I don't really like. I had it teh second night with bread and liked it well enough then. I didn't think it needed noodles or rice to make it complete--it's filling as written. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
good soup, fast and easy, can add just about anything to it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by dumblady
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
I really liked the taste & ease of this recipe but unfortunately no one else in my family enjoyed it. The refried beans gave it a 'muddy' texture that everyone but me complained about. I honestly thought it made it hearty & satisfying. ...But because of the complainers I won't be able to serve this again:^
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dumblady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
It feels good to use up some of the canned goods in my pantry! However, I probably wouldn't make again. Pretty bland and a bit gritty. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
i love this soup, its so great for using leftover refried beans! i substitute chicken broth and add chicken and some cumin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2009
i don't understand why there's italian spices with south & central american veggies. they didn't go together. i should have spiced it with cumin & chili powder
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
This was great! Though next time I will use less oregano, like half and more pepper. We topped it with cheese, scooped it with Mexican tostadas. Also I made it less soup-y and a bit more like a chili consistency. And used fresh green beans, onion, garlic and some celery. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Skye

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
This is a verry easy recipe that everybody loves!I top it with sour cream and avacato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by walks_softly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2006
I've been trying to stay away from tomatoes, pasta, potatoes, and other things. It's hard to find a soup without these things. I left out the stewed tomatoes, and it was incredibly delicious! The refried bean soup base was amazing! I used 2 cloves real garlic, instead of powder, and 1-2 Tbsp of lime juice to give it some zing, since I didn't have any tomatoes in it. I shredded some white "melting cheese", (I think it's like a cheese used in Mexico), and crushed some tortilla chips on top of each poured bowl. The two people in my family who ate this, went back for 4 times for more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States