Canned Apple Pie Filling Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2000
I have tried this recipe and just love it. Has a really good flavor. Have made several quarts of it now. Best recipe for this I have found so far...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2001
This is an old family favorite, especially good with pancakes. I had lost the recipe several ago and was glad to find it here. Fast and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Traverse City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Gaylord, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2001
Delicious and easy. The canned apples can be used in other recipes, such as cobbler, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2002
Excellent recipe! I am a first time canner and found it so simple to follow. I made this recipe during apple season and have used the apples all winter. I haven't made a pie from it but my family loves it on pancakes, french toast and ice cream. Have served it for breakfast to overnight guest and they always ask for a jar to bring home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2002
This is a real tummy pleaser, my family loves this recipe. I added a little more nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2002
This recipe had too much goo for a regular apple pie. I used a jar of apple with about half the sauce and then added half of the apples in another jar to complete the pie. This made the regular pie consistency. The filling will probably be delicious in other recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schmerna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2003
This recipe was so easy and fun to make! I used an apple peeler/corer/slicer for the apples, mixed up a batch of the filling, and canned them. Quick and easy! Made a perfect 7 quarts, just like the recipe said! VERY YUMMY TOO! I was wondering if it would be too sweet, but it wasn't...just perfect! I was surprised how easy it was to make. Will definately make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2003
I'm a Master Food Preserver, and I thought I'd try a different recipe for apple pie filling than my usual. This one never set up - the "syrup" was too liquidy. It made only 6 quarts (and not all of those completely full). I'll use it as pancake syrup and toast topping, however, to keep it from going to waste. I think I'll stick with my never-fail Ball Blue Book recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2004
The recipe canned well for me, made 7 quart jars. My only criticism was that when I tried to make a pie it was very bland (And I added more spices than were suggested). I may try it again while apples are still everywhere, but I'll probably use 2-3 times more spices. And for my remaining 6 jars I'll definately add more before I bake. Thanks for the recipe though, it is a great time saver to start my thanksgiving pies now before the rush!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2004
I just made this recipe today. I am a beginner canner, but found it very simple and precise! I haven't made a pie with it yet, but I did taste test the syrup and it was soooo yummy! I must admit, I exchanged 1 cup of the granulated sugar for brown sugar and added 1/8 tsp. cloves, 1 extra tsp. cinnamon, 1/4 tsp. extra nutmeg and 1/4 of a tsp. of allspice. (I like my apple pies kinda spicey.) I plan to give it out as Christmas gifts this year along with the dry ingredients for making apple crisp. GREAT RECIPE!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
127 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sb

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upton, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 225) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Pie Filling

Whip up a batch when you have a lot of apples and store the filling in the freeze

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States