Canned Apple Pie Filling Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
I have made this 2 years in a row now. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
When my friend and I make apple pie filling we use apple juice instead of water. It turns out wonderful every time! Happy canning ladies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
Amazing! My whole family loves it. My husband asked me to do more, I had done 21 already. Do be careful not to fill the jars too full. A friend shared a similar recipe with me and it said fill jar 3/4 full. I have found you can put a little more than that but not much. I always have a little bit of the syrup left over so I made a pie using it and fresh apples. Like others I added 1 Tbsp of cinnamon and about 1-2 tsp of nutmeg. 1 jar will make a 9" deep dish pie, so maybe I pack my apples tighter than most. 1 reviewer wrote to boil the 8 cups of water with everything but the lemon juice and cornstarch. Mix the other 2 cups of water w/ the cornstarch and lemon juice. When the sugar mixture is boiling add the cornstarch mixture until you no longer see the white of the cornstarch. I did the last batch this way and it was thicker than the others. I am not sure if the extra step is worth it but if your syrup is not thick enough try it this way. 1 reviewer said do not use Red Delicious. That is the kind of tree we have so that is what I used. We all loved it. I guess it is a personal choice but do not shy away from using Red Delicious. Thanks for a GREAT recipe and all the tips from other reviewers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hillsborough, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
this was so easy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MichaeleM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elberfeld, Indiana, USA
Living In: Lyons, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
Canned this last fall. Made a pie recently and I can't say enough. This is fantastic. I left out the food coloring. It is DELISH
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cook and a half

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
My mom (who has been canning for years and years) Said this recipe was amazing. She was very impressed. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
I made a batch of this with fresh local organic apples in Sept., and we have used two jars so far. One qt jar = 1 regular/shallow 9" pie for us. So far, our favorite method is to bake the pie crust for about 5 minutes unfilled (with holes pricked in it) at 425 F then pour the filling in (I crumble a little extra pie crust over the top - tastes great and looks pretty, but less work than building a lattice or doing a top crust) and reduce the temperature to 350 F and bake for about 45 min. This is such a huge hit with my husband and 5 year old that a whole pie can disappear in less than 24 hours. I am really glad I tried this recipe!! The only changes I made to the original recipe were to omit the food coloring (yuck) and substitute cardamom for nutmeg. This will definitely become a yearly favorite for us! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
I made this recipe to can as well. It has been a couple of months since I canned it and it looks so unappetizing. I do not even want to try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
This was good, but I adapted a few things and changed some quantities. I used wide mouth jars for easy filling. I left out the food coloring and the nutmeg. I increased the cinn. to about 3 Tbls. (think about 1 tsp per pie recipe). I used about 6 quarts of apples. (I would say that it is about 40 medium sized apples.) I used clear jel very successfully in place of the corn starch I used about 1 and 1/4 cups. I mixed the sugar, cinn, salt and clear jel together. I heated the water up in a pot on the stove until it was hot but not boiling and then slowly poured the dry mix into the water, whisking as I went. I had no problems with clumps or anything. I filled my jar 1/2 full of apples and then added several ladles full of syrup, I pushed and pressed to get the bubbles out before I added the other apples and the rest of the syrup. Make sure you leave a FULL 1 inch of head space. If you leave any less, you will take your jar out of the water thinking everything went great, and then the oozing will start. In this case, your jar didn't seal and you will have to reprocess in a clean jar with a new band. Overall, the taste is good and I would recommend this to a friend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
I'm in the minority here, but this didn't work out for me. I can quite a bit, but there is too much syrup here in comparison to the apples. When I made a pie with this, it didn't set at all; the syrup was runny and overflowing. That shouldn't have happened, as I followed recipe exactly. You need about twice the apples and half the syrup. Cornstarch shouldn't be canned anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 208) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States