Canned Apple Pie Filling Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
This was my first attempt at canning and this recipe was easy to follow & makes a great apple pie. Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
Very easy. I added vanilla, cloves and about a cup of orange juice (replacing 1 cup of water) to the syrup. It gives the pie a whole different taste... Reminds me of Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEEMS13408

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Haven, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
I used the advice of one of the other raters and layered the apples and the sauce, but the rest was exactly like the recipe, then the 2nd batch was too and then the 3rd batch... why change what is so good? Thankyou, Rhonda for sharing such an awesome recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Anderson, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
This reciepe is easy to use, but for canning u cant use constarch as the usda does not recommend it. I have done my research on the cornstrach. I also made this recipe to can as the clear jel which ur supposed to use. I did not find this out till I was done canning the apples with the constarch. So if ur canning u must use the clear jel. orther wise the cornstrach breaks down and seperates from the water. I did follow the recipe to the exact way
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
worked perfectly. Be careful not to pack your apples too tight because the liquid mixture gets very thick and has a hard time surrounding the apples. Next time I think I will pack them half full add liquid and then add more slices until filled. Smells heavenly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KARENSFIXINS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
Wonderful flavor. I made two batches, and the second batch came out better because I really packed the apples in the jars. The first batch I didn't do that so the sauce-to-fruit ratio was waaay off. Rather than use those to make a pie, I just poured some of the excess sauce off when I opened the jar, and warmed the apples in a skillet with a little butter. Yummy! A happy mistake, fabulous with baked ham. If the sauce thickens too much to easily cover the apples in the jars, add a little water until it loosens a bit and it'll pour right over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
SUPER easy, was my second thing I ever canned and everyone loves it. We have already used it on ice cream and pancakes. Highly recomend this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
Cornstarch is no longer considered safe for canning by the USDA. Additionally it calls for food coloring which will not hold up over time. The processing time for quarts should be 25 minutes. This time comes from 3 safe to can pie filling recipes. Please use a recipe that call for Clear Jel which is a modified corn starh that the USDA has tested ad found to be safe for canning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
This is so good! I'm gojng to put some up in pints for pancake/waffle topping for Christmas gifts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pat Shandorf

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
Very good! Make sure to pack your jar with apples or you will get an excess of syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 216) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Pie Filling

Whip up a batch when you have a lot of apples and store the filling in the freeze

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States