Canned Apple Pie Filling Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
This is out of this world delicious! My daughter and I made this for the first time and we both loved it. We did ramp up the spices, used Gravenstein apples, and added 1/2 cup extra brown sugar. Yummy, Yummy,this is now our favorite canning project.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
This recipe is good… However using Clear Jel instead of cornstarch is more appropriate for preserving. It is basically a starch specifically for long shelf life. It is more stable and does not allow for separating. I get mine in bulk at our University's (OSU) extension office, it can also be purchased online. I have been preserving for years and used to use cornstarch, once I found clear jel I will never go back. Happy Canning Season!… also if using this recipe with clear jel use a 1/2C instead of a cup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
What a waste of apples. :( Ours looked fine at first but a few months later and it looks like congealed grossness. Going to have to toss a whole batch. I don't know if it was the cornstarch or what... I'll never can with cornstarch again though. I found some clearjel and that's what I'll use from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUHRAYCEE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2014
Didn't have enough apples but still made the whole amount of sauce, just in case. Added 2 TABLESPOONS of cinnamon (our fam LOVES cinnamon) and put in 4 cups white sugar, 1/2 cup brown for that deep taste and color. Added 1/2 tsp (instead of 1/4) nutmeg and 1/2 tsp cloves. I did add the cornstarch with two cups of the water and mixed it, then added it to the sugar/water (remaining 6 cups) mixture. I used the lemon juice on the slices as I cut them and then used that water as the 2 cups mixed with the cornstarch. Other than that, left the recipe as it stands. Put up two quarts of extra sauce (remember, I had a mixed match basket of apples that someone gave me, that were going bad). We had a basket of bananas that were going bad too. We cut up some good apples and bananas, added some pecans and mixed it with the sauce. YUMMO! We're putting it on French Toast tomorrow. I made "Apple scrap jelly" out of the peels and cores. Thanks for the great recipe! I plan to use this as an apple crisp when family comes in this summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
The taste of this is AMAZING! I used pears from our tree and it TASTED fantastic. The down side is that I ended up in the restroom after eating this (tried it a couple of times)...I think it was because the cornstarch doesn't let it get to the correct temp for canning. Unfortunately, I had to throw it all out. I WILL be making this again, although next time, I will be sure to use Clear Jel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeeplette

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Anna, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
I have used this recipe a few times. I think it turns out great. I do use Penzy's apple pie spice and it turns out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
Thanks for the awesome recipe....it worked perfectly!! I would have given it a five but I had to tweak a couple of things. First off, I filled up my big bowl w/ sliced apples (I have no idea how many pounds that was), added all the dry ingredients except for the cornstarch and two cups of water (which I mixed separately to remove all clumps), added the cornstarch mix to that and boiled. I also added an extra tsp of cinnamon and also 1/4 tsp of both ground cloves and allspice; as I like other reviewers also like my apple pie with more spice. Cooked that concoction up until it was bubbly and the white from the cornstarch disappeared. Packed the apples in my clean, sterilized jars, added the yummy sauce (I also left approx one inch from the top) and processed in my pressure cooker. Worked perfectly-thanks again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
I have made this recipe for years. It's so handy to make a quick pie and my family loves them. I don't know about cornstarch being dangerous. It will get a bit strange looking over time in the bottle but it isn't spoiled and tastes just fine when baked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
Easy, quick. Follow directions to the letter. After canning, you just pour the canned filling into an unbaked crust. You will have apple pie in no time without all the fuss!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
Worked really well for me
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Council Bluffs, Iowa, USA
Living In: West Bend, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 210) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Pie Filling

Whip up a batch when you have a lot of apples and store the filling in the freeze

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States