Canned Apple Pie Filling Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
This was a fabulous recipee but I would cut back on the sugar next time. I don't like to adulterate the goodness of the apples and to me this did. Loved the amount of spices though. Also, would use this recipee again but think I would heed the warnings of the people who said not to use corn starch to can with and I would use the clear jel. It did do 7 quarts exactly for me. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Hartke

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
Really great recipe, flavor, texture, it all worked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jenny Aleman
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2014
I had tons of apples that needed some cooking. This recipe was perfect for it! It's the first time I can apple pie filling and was a very enjoyable process. The flavor of the syrup is fantastic so I'm sure I'll bake very tasty pies or empanadas. I used two cups of the water to mix the corn starch and then added the mix to the rest of the water. The color of the syrup is perfect so I didn't add the food coloring.I also soaked the apples in water with lemon to avoid oxidation. I'm pleased with the results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny Aleman

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
I make this recipe every year :)It is so simple an easy . I only change a few things I use a bit less water and a bit more spice :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthia Lea Blaine

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
Worked out good used half reg. sugar and half cooking slenda
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ardell Stackpole

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2014
I added Dried Cranberries, and used lime instead of lemon. No reason.. We didn't have lemons and I wasn't going to the store. This was just what I was looking for, Thank you for posting it. :0)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie :0)
Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
I used about 12 pounds of apples and made 8 quarts of filling with the same amount of all other ingredients. The apples shrink while processing and let off some off their juices. I ended up with a nice amount of fruit and plenty of filling in each quart. I would not use 6 pounds of apples, it just wouldn't be enough. Also, food coloring? I left that out, completely unnecessary and unappetizing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alicia Kusel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2014
yummy and so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
Yes, I have tried this recipe. My mother-in-law loved it so much we got more apples this year and plan on a yearly tradition of making this pie filling. She is very old school and amazed that she liked it so well. Very tasty and convenient to use. Use a tart apple if wanting more stark flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
Awesome! Made a case of 1 liter jars with this recipe, and my husband and 7 kids all tried the leftovers and gave it 16 unanimous thumbs up! I did alter the recipe a bit, by substituting 10 cups of all natural NO SUGAR added apple juice for the water, cutting the sugar back to 2 cups white sugar and one cup brown. I omitted the food colouring. I also canned several pints of small diced apples in the sauce for the kids to spoon over yogurt, ice cream and/or oatmeal. I am pretty sure that one case of the liter jars will not be enough for our family, so will be doing this recipe again in a week or so after another trip to our local orchard. These jars would make the most awesome gifts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 225) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Pie Filling

Whip up a batch when you have a lot of apples and store the filling in the freeze

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States