Canned Apple Pie Filling Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2002
This is a real tummy pleaser, my family loves this recipe. I added a little more nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2000
I have tried this recipe and just love it. Has a really good flavor. Have made several quarts of it now. Best recipe for this I have found so far...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2003
This recipe was so easy and fun to make! I used an apple peeler/corer/slicer for the apples, mixed up a batch of the filling, and canned them. Quick and easy! Made a perfect 7 quarts, just like the recipe said! VERY YUMMY TOO! I was wondering if it would be too sweet, but it wasn't...just perfect! I was surprised how easy it was to make. Will definately make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2001
Delicious and easy. The canned apples can be used in other recipes, such as cobbler, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2004
This pie filling is great! I made it for the first time last year and gave it as Christmas presents. Now my family is begging for more! Sure is a good thing that both my parents and my in-laws have 3-4 apple trees each...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2004
I just made this recipe today. I am a beginner canner, but found it very simple and precise! I haven't made a pie with it yet, but I did taste test the syrup and it was soooo yummy! I must admit, I exchanged 1 cup of the granulated sugar for brown sugar and added 1/8 tsp. cloves, 1 extra tsp. cinnamon, 1/4 tsp. extra nutmeg and 1/4 of a tsp. of allspice. (I like my apple pies kinda spicey.) I plan to give it out as Christmas gifts this year along with the dry ingredients for making apple crisp. GREAT RECIPE!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
127 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sb

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upton, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2001
This is an old family favorite, especially good with pancakes. I had lost the recipe several ago and was glad to find it here. Fast and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Traverse City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Gaylord, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2002
Excellent recipe! I am a first time canner and found it so simple to follow. I made this recipe during apple season and have used the apples all winter. I haven't made a pie from it but my family loves it on pancakes, french toast and ice cream. Have served it for breakfast to overnight guest and they always ask for a jar to bring home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2006
My aunt gave me some apples (more than I could eat before having them go bad) and found this recipe so I decided to try it. I dont have a canner so I used a big pot like I do when I make jelly. I only had 4 lbs of apples so I used the custom feature to scale this recipe down. I took other suggestions and used part brown sugar and increased the cinnamon and used pumpkin pie spice. *My question is...are the apples supposed to still be "crisp" when you open the jar? When I sampled the next day they were just as crisp and fresh tasting as they were when I filled the jars. I have only made canned jelly and not sure what the texture is supposed to be on this recipe. Nonetheless they do taste great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CINDY76541

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waco, Texas, USA
Living In: Copperas Cove, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2006
Tastes great hot. We will see how it does after sitting in jars for a spell.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Geneseo, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 223) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Apple Pie Filling

Whip up a batch when you have a lot of apples and store the filling in the freeze

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States