Canned Apple Pie Filling Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2000
I have tried this recipe and just love it. Has a really good flavor. Have made several quarts of it now. Best recipe for this I have found so far...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2001
Delicious and easy. The canned apples can be used in other recipes, such as cobbler, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2004
This pie filling is great! I made it for the first time last year and gave it as Christmas presents. Now my family is begging for more! Sure is a good thing that both my parents and my in-laws have 3-4 apple trees each...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2001
This is an old family favorite, especially good with pancakes. I had lost the recipe several ago and was glad to find it here. Fast and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Traverse City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Gaylord, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2002
Excellent recipe! I am a first time canner and found it so simple to follow. I made this recipe during apple season and have used the apples all winter. I haven't made a pie from it but my family loves it on pancakes, french toast and ice cream. Have served it for breakfast to overnight guest and they always ask for a jar to bring home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2002
This is a real tummy pleaser, my family loves this recipe. I added a little more nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2003
This recipe was so easy and fun to make! I used an apple peeler/corer/slicer for the apples, mixed up a batch of the filling, and canned them. Quick and easy! Made a perfect 7 quarts, just like the recipe said! VERY YUMMY TOO! I was wondering if it would be too sweet, but it wasn't...just perfect! I was surprised how easy it was to make. Will definately make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2006
Tastes great hot. We will see how it does after sitting in jars for a spell.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Geneseo, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2004
I just made this recipe today. I am a beginner canner, but found it very simple and precise! I haven't made a pie with it yet, but I did taste test the syrup and it was soooo yummy! I must admit, I exchanged 1 cup of the granulated sugar for brown sugar and added 1/8 tsp. cloves, 1 extra tsp. cinnamon, 1/4 tsp. extra nutmeg and 1/4 of a tsp. of allspice. (I like my apple pies kinda spicey.) I plan to give it out as Christmas gifts this year along with the dry ingredients for making apple crisp. GREAT RECIPE!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
125 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sb

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upton, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2006
My aunt gave me some apples (more than I could eat before having them go bad) and found this recipe so I decided to try it. I dont have a canner so I used a big pot like I do when I make jelly. I only had 4 lbs of apples so I used the custom feature to scale this recipe down. I took other suggestions and used part brown sugar and increased the cinnamon and used pumpkin pie spice. *My question is...are the apples supposed to still be "crisp" when you open the jar? When I sampled the next day they were just as crisp and fresh tasting as they were when I filled the jars. I have only made canned jelly and not sure what the texture is supposed to be on this recipe. Nonetheless they do taste great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CINDY76541

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waco, Texas, USA
Living In: Copperas Cove, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 210) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Pie Filling

Whip up a batch when you have a lot of apples and store the filling in the freeze

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States