Canned Apple Pie Filling Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
I made this to fill turnovers and strudels. worked beautifully, a few changes- I used 3 cups of pasturized cider and 5 cups water, also extra cinnamon and a dash of cloves. I diced the apples and added them to the sauce and then chilled the mix since I wasn't canning it. a nice thick sauce, much better than store with a homemade flavor. will try again and freeze some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
I have never rated or reviewed a recipe until now. I totally had to this time. This recipe is super easy and tastes great! I had never thought of canning apple pie filling, how silly huh?! Well I am sooooo glad I did! I made a pie out of it about 3 weeks after I canned it. Let me tell u, it was divine! My husband and son almost ate it all in one sitting. =D I will continue to do this for yrs to come, and I plan on passing it on to my children. What an awesome thing! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
I followed the directions exactly and I am an avid canner, so I decided to give this recipe a try. I think this was an ok jumping off point, but at the same time the first batch was a waste of ingredients. The syrup set up as a jelly consistancy in the jar, but did not hold up in the actual pie. I would suggest reading all suggestions on here before following the directions as is. I made so many changes that I am not going to list because that would be an altogether different recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
Easy, straight-forward recipe. Taste your apples and syrup first to adjust flavors before canning. 1 inch headspace worked best on my batch. Note about the clear jel: yes, it works. Cornstarch is still safe, however: if your jars and the bath canner come to a boil, then they are at the correct temp to sterilize.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by the Siani Fairy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
This was my first attempt at canning and this recipe was easy to follow & makes a great apple pie. Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
Very easy. I added vanilla, cloves and about a cup of orange juice (replacing 1 cup of water) to the syrup. It gives the pie a whole different taste... Reminds me of Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEEMS13408

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Haven, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
I used the advice of one of the other raters and layered the apples and the sauce, but the rest was exactly like the recipe, then the 2nd batch was too and then the 3rd batch... why change what is so good? Thankyou, Rhonda for sharing such an awesome recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Anderson, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
This reciepe is easy to use, but for canning u cant use constarch as the usda does not recommend it. I have done my research on the cornstrach. I also made this recipe to can as the clear jel which ur supposed to use. I did not find this out till I was done canning the apples with the constarch. So if ur canning u must use the clear jel. orther wise the cornstrach breaks down and seperates from the water. I did follow the recipe to the exact way
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
worked perfectly. Be careful not to pack your apples too tight because the liquid mixture gets very thick and has a hard time surrounding the apples. Next time I think I will pack them half full add liquid and then add more slices until filled. Smells heavenly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KARENSFIXINS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
Wonderful flavor. I made two batches, and the second batch came out better because I really packed the apples in the jars. The first batch I didn't do that so the sauce-to-fruit ratio was waaay off. Rather than use those to make a pie, I just poured some of the excess sauce off when I opened the jar, and warmed the apples in a skillet with a little butter. Yummy! A happy mistake, fabulous with baked ham. If the sauce thickens too much to easily cover the apples in the jars, add a little water until it loosens a bit and it'll pour right over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 210) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Pie Filling

Whip up a batch when you have a lot of apples and store the filling in the freeze

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States