Canned Apple Pie Filling Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
This is a good recipe, except for in the directions, it says to pack the sliced apples into hot sterilized jars, I like to blanch my fruit first, blanching first keeps the fruit from floating to the top of the jar, and I never add food coloring
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cats Cookin' Corner

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rosamond, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
In the jar, they look beautiful. Hopeful that they cook up as well as they look. added note:the pie was wonderful! nice and thick, wonderful!! Thanks rhonda
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daysee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Helena, Montana, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
Worked wonderful! My family loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
The instructions to can were easy to follow, and taste is the best of any recipe I have tried! I used apples just starting to turn red.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Strathclair, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Brandon, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2012
Came out great, will make every year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarajay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
Only gets 3 stars due to the directions, but it is a good basic recipe to use for reference. I found that by mixing the cornstarch with the dry ingredients, it will end up clumping in the end product. To prevent this, I simply add the cornstarch with some of the cold liquid and stir until smooth. Bring other ingredients (minus the apples) to a boil then add the cornstarch mixture and stir constantly. Bring to rolling boil & continue stirring for 1 minute. Remove from heat & alternately add apples & filling into sterile jars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
Fantastic recipe, I halved this because I only had 3lb of apples that I needed to put up but it turned out great. thanks so much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DaniannJo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Interlachen, Florida, USA
Living In: Bear Lake, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
used this for a cupcake filling, so I scaled it to 4 servings and diced the apples (I used 1 granny smith and 1 gala). I omitted the food dye, but followed the rest exactly- PERFECT! The amount was perfect for 14 cupcakes (made from Applesace Cake IV by Corwynn- this site) and the taste was just what I was looking for! Can't wait to use this in the fall for canning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
This is the best way to save the apples from my tree in the back yard. I need 2 jars for my pie dish that is rather deep. Has made a great hostess gift in the past as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
This was my first attempt at canning pie filling and it was fairly simple to do and a few months after canning I made a pie and it was delicious! I didn't change a thing on the recipe. I used Honey Crisp apples from a fruit stand, so it might turn out differently depending on the type of apple you use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MadamC

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 210) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Pie Filling

Whip up a batch when you have a lot of apples and store the filling in the freeze

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States