Canned Apple Pie Filling Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
The taste of this is AMAZING! I used pears from our tree and it TASTED fantastic. The down side is that I ended up in the restroom after eating this (tried it a couple of times)...I think it was because the cornstarch doesn't let it get to the correct temp for canning. Unfortunately, I had to throw it all out. I WILL be making this again, although next time, I will be sure to use Clear Jel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeeplette

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Anna, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
I have used this recipe a few times. I think it turns out great. I do use Penzy's apple pie spice and it turns out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
Thanks for the awesome recipe....it worked perfectly!! I would have given it a five but I had to tweak a couple of things. First off, I filled up my big bowl w/ sliced apples (I have no idea how many pounds that was), added all the dry ingredients except for the cornstarch and two cups of water (which I mixed separately to remove all clumps), added the cornstarch mix to that and boiled. I also added an extra tsp of cinnamon and also 1/4 tsp of both ground cloves and allspice; as I like other reviewers also like my apple pie with more spice. Cooked that concoction up until it was bubbly and the white from the cornstarch disappeared. Packed the apples in my clean, sterilized jars, added the yummy sauce (I also left approx one inch from the top) and processed in my pressure cooker. Worked perfectly-thanks again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
I have made this recipe for years. It's so handy to make a quick pie and my family loves them. I don't know about cornstarch being dangerous. It will get a bit strange looking over time in the bottle but it isn't spoiled and tastes just fine when baked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
Easy, quick. Follow directions to the letter. After canning, you just pour the canned filling into an unbaked crust. You will have apple pie in no time without all the fuss!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
Worked really well for me
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Council Bluffs, Iowa, USA
Living In: West Bend, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
This was an excellent recipe. I found it to be very simple to make. Red Delicious apples worked fine in it. I also increased the cinnamon and absolutely loved it. I used it 3 days later in an apple pie---delicious!!! Great recipe and thanks for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
I have used this recipe before and it makes wonderful surprise for Holiday gifts just give a note on the pie crust and top with a note and they will enjoy... terry b Eastman,ga
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
The headspace on this is completly wrong !!! I filled the headspace to the half inch required and when they came out of the canner they were exploding from thier jars . Resulting in a very nasty burn ! Keep it to an inch and up the spices and lower the required water to 8 1/2 cups. DO NOT USE CORNSTARCH !! Order clear gel from the intranet, cornstarch is not recommended by the USDA. Be sfe and avoid burns and botulism !!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kari

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 21-30 (of 226) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Pie Filling

Whip up a batch when you have a lot of apples and store the filling in the freeze

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States