Canned Apple Pie Filling Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
I decreased the sugar to 3-1/2 cups and it was plenty sweet. Definitely the best and simple Apple filling recipe! Delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
Good recipe but I used apple pie filling instead of cinnamon and nutmeg. It's good. For sure need to leave at least a 1 inch headspace. All of my jars on the first attempt oozed and leaked. No seals. But great taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Evans

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
everyone that tried my mix fell in love. don't have too many jars left, they keep coming back for more.. best easiest pie I ever made..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryle Skaggs

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
This is a great recipe. We needed more than 6 lbs. of apples for 7 quarts, but the sauce was just about enough for 7 quarts. My daughter-in-law & I declared this recipe is 5 stars and a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
Ugh..so much time wasted on this. The syrup came out WAAAY too thick and gloomy. It took nearly double the amount of apples and it made far too much syrup. Also, I had to reprocess because 1/2 in headspace was not enough. Even after reprocessing with 1 in head space, I had lots of siphoning. Now finding out that canning with cornstarch isn't safe, I'm going to have to freeze all my pie filling. So disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
Second season using this. Been canning over 30 years. I like the recipe as written but this year I did add 1/8 tsp ground cloves. The apples have to be packed tight to get 7 quarts. to reduce bubbles, I first add about 1/2 cup syrup, fill jar half full of apples, add another 1/2 cup syrup and finish filling. As far as the starch debate; I use a quality name brand corn starch and have had no problems with either breakdown of the syrup, taste, or spoilage. The USDA's mandate is to promote the "best" practice, even if second best has been used for decades. If you have the ability to use clear-jel, great! Do so. It is simply a different form of the same corn starch I use, and home canners have used for decades. Like any recipe for preservation, if you follow the instructions and measure accurately...you should have no problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bob Marr

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
This is out of this world delicious! My daughter and I made this for the first time and we both loved it. We did ramp up the spices, used Gravenstein apples, and added 1/2 cup extra brown sugar. Yummy, Yummy,this is now our favorite canning project.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
Ours looked fine at first but a few months later and it looks like congealed grossness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUHRAYCEE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2014
Didn't have enough apples but still made the whole amount of sauce, just in case. Added 2 TABLESPOONS of cinnamon (our fam LOVES cinnamon) and put in 4 cups white sugar, 1/2 cup brown for that deep taste and color. Added 1/2 tsp (instead of 1/4) nutmeg and 1/2 tsp cloves. I did add the cornstarch with two cups of the water and mixed it, then added it to the sugar/water (remaining 6 cups) mixture. I used the lemon juice on the slices as I cut them and then used that water as the 2 cups mixed with the cornstarch. Other than that, left the recipe as it stands. Put up two quarts of extra sauce (remember, I had a mixed match basket of apples that someone gave me, that were going bad). We had a basket of bananas that were going bad too. We cut up some good apples and bananas, added some pecans and mixed it with the sauce. YUMMO! We're putting it on French Toast tomorrow. I made "Apple scrap jelly" out of the peels and cores. Thanks for the great recipe! I plan to use this as an apple crisp when family comes in this summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
The taste of this is AMAZING! I used pears from our tree and it TASTED fantastic. The down side is that I ended up in the restroom after eating this (tried it a couple of times)...I think it was because the cornstarch doesn't let it get to the correct temp for canning. Unfortunately, I had to throw it all out. I WILL be making this again, although next time, I will be sure to use Clear Jel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeeplette

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Anna, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 225) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Pie Filling

Whip up a batch when you have a lot of apples and store the filling in the freeze

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States