Canned Apple Pie Filling Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
I did add more spice....made the cinnamon heaping tsps, fresh grated nutmeg and 1/8 tsp clove. When I filled the jars up to one inch of the top they gushed when I took them out. The ones I only filled half with syrup did not. I tried cutting down on the cornstarch as it seemed too much but in the end had to ad all that was asked for, also forgot the lemon juice to start and what a difference it makes. I will definitely make more and work on the gushing problem till I am satisfied.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Powell River, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
This filling is great! I did up the spices a bit and added a little allspice, but otherwise, I have had so many good reviews that I can't keep an apple pie around the house for more than a day! Works well to make apple crisp, too. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Vernal, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
This is a really nice pie filling. It's easy to throw together a batch when the Honeycrisp are ready here in WA State. I've never gotten a full 7 quarts out of it, but no one here has complained about having to munch on that half quart on their vanilla ice cream. I leave out the yellow food coloring everytime, can't quite comprehend putting it in lovely food. Note that the recipe says TWO quarts per pie. I actually use 1 quart per pie because we are happy with a little bit thinner/smaller pie, but if you're looking for the pie that mounds up, use more. I leave 3/4 to 1 inch of headspace, because it does expand quite a bit. I've not had any troubles with spoilage because of the cornstarch. Last year's batch tasted great 11 months later. I have a batch going right now. It will take me about 1.5 hours to process once I get everything out and going. Pretty nice for pies stored up in the winter! I gave four stars because I made it as is the first time around and it wasn't spicy enough. I just taste the syrup and amend based on flavor now. Try a splash of vanilla to the syrup after taking it off of the heat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dix, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
takes time to make the apple pie filling but it's great in a pinch, just make or grab a shell and you've got a wonderful homemade dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
Delicious but jars overflow during processing even with extra space left in the jar. Tried canning three times, even heated the apples on one try. Also the jars that did seal do not stay that way. Have checked jars several weeks later and the seal is broken. I have removed them from the jars and froze in freeezer bags. I have canned for years without problems so would love to find a version of this recipe that actually works for canning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
GREAT! Easy Peasy recipe. Thanks so much! I added lots of spices and it thickened up perfectly too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SARAHFLOWERS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
Thanks for sharing this great recipe! I followed the recipe as written (except left out nutmeg) and did not have any troubles. I think my next batch I will add more cinnamon though- it seemed a little weak on spices, but I can always add more when I go to bake my pie or crisp. I also need to pack my jars fuller with apples- there was a lot of syrup compared to apples. I saved my apple peelings and cooked down to make apple jelly- no waste- yay!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by minders

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
REally good...i did add 1 more tsp of cinn. and 1/4 tsp more of nutmeg...dont know really if that made any difference...it was good though...i also used.."Easy Pie Crust from phillsbury bake off" and really....i havent ever made any good pies before.....they always turned out dry and never finished..always had to toss...but this one was all eaten up :) thank you for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Janesville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
Just finished canning 21 quarts of granny smiths using this recipe. I took the advice of other reviewers and doubled the spices and omitted the food coloring. All three batches were beautiful. One quart didn't pop so I made a pie and it was perfect. Much easier than other pie filling recipes - and just as great tasting!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
Simply a mess. Do not attempt to can anything and I repeat ANYTHING with cornstarch or flour. You will have a big oozy mess on your hands (and kitchen floor for that matter). Tasted ok though :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 226) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Pie Filling

Whip up a batch when you have a lot of apples and store the filling in the freeze

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States