Canned Apple Pie Filling Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
This was a fabulous recipee but I would cut back on the sugar next time. I don't like to adulterate the goodness of the apples and to me this did. Loved the amount of spices though. Also, would use this recipee again but think I would heed the warnings of the people who said not to use corn starch to can with and I would use the clear jel. It did do 7 quarts exactly for me. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Hartke

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
Really great recipe, flavor, texture, it all worked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jenny Aleman
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2014
I had tons of apples that needed some cooking. This recipe was perfect for it! It's the first time I can apple pie filling and was a very enjoyable process. The flavor of the syrup is fantastic so I'm sure I'll bake very tasty pies or empanadas. I used two cups of the water to mix the corn starch and then added the mix to the rest of the water. The color of the syrup is perfect so I didn't add the food coloring.I also soaked the apples in water with lemon to avoid oxidation. I'm pleased with the results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny Aleman

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
I make this recipe every year :)It is so simple an easy . I only change a few things I use a bit less water and a bit more spice :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthia Lea Blaine

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
Worked out good used half reg. sugar and half cooking slenda
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ardell Stackpole

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2014
I added Dried Cranberries, and used lime instead of lemon. No reason.. We didn't have lemons and I wasn't going to the store. This was just what I was looking for, Thank you for posting it. :0)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie :0)
Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
I used about 12 pounds of apples and made 8 quarts of filling with the same amount of all other ingredients. The apples shrink while processing and let off some off their juices. I ended up with a nice amount of fruit and plenty of filling in each quart. I would not use 6 pounds of apples, it just wouldn't be enough. Also, food coloring? I left that out, completely unnecessary and unappetizing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alicia Kusel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2014
yummy and so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
Yes, I have tried this recipe. My mother-in-law loved it so much we got more apples this year and plan on a yearly tradition of making this pie filling. She is very old school and amazed that she liked it so well. Very tasty and convenient to use. Use a tart apple if wanting more stark flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
Awesome! Made a case of 1 liter jars with this recipe, and my husband and 7 kids all tried the leftovers and gave it 16 unanimous thumbs up! I did alter the recipe a bit, by substituting 10 cups of all natural NO SUGAR added apple juice for the water, cutting the sugar back to 2 cups white sugar and one cup brown. I omitted the food colouring. I also canned several pints of small diced apples in the sauce for the kids to spoon over yogurt, ice cream and/or oatmeal. I am pretty sure that one case of the liter jars will not be enough for our family, so will be doing this recipe again in a week or so after another trip to our local orchard. These jars would make the most awesome gifts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 225) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Pie Filling

Whip up a batch when you have a lot of apples and store the filling in the freeze

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States