Candy Strawberries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
My cousin gave me this recipe years ago. I lost it when we moved and I am so glad I found it here in time for my daughter's baby shower next week. I love it. The only thing I do differently is I do most of the berry in red and the top on green therefore I do not have to make the almond paste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dutchiev

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
Not my cup of tea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHEWETT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Susanville, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
I love this recipe. I have been making it for years. I found it in an old candy cookbook. They are definitely sweet, but it's candy, what do you expect. And make sure you use sweetened condensed milk not evaporated, because yes, there is a difference. Just a suggestion, in my recipe it says to use ground coconut too. I just put both the pecans and coconut together in the food processor and grind them both. This makes the berries form a little easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
Thank you for posting this recipe. I made this when I was in grade school (over 30 years ago) and wanted to make it again but didn't know where to find the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
Love that this recipe is posted here. As a child, my neighbor always made these very sweet treats and I remember sneaking one with her permission before her New Year's Eve party every year. What a great memory... I love how food inspires warm memories... add these to your heritage! Thank you, Marlys Loree for making meaningful memories in my life!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
Made these last easter and those who liked them, really liked them. I thought they were a little bit strange tasting. Will make again if asked, but probably not choose them myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Juliet M.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
These look beautiful. As far as taste, they are not bad. Verrry sweet though. The grainy texture makes me feel like I am chewing pure sugar. This recipe makes a loooot of strawberries. I am not sure I will make these again, but they were a cute and novel little treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
I didn't like these. I thought they were WAY too sweet and I really didn't care for the texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandi Roe Nieto

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
ok these are just plain weird! They taste like some kind of step is missing or something. If you really want to make something like this stick with almond paste. Just too weird.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2008
I have been looking for a recipe for these for a while now. I followed the recipe exactly, and they were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peach Gelee Candy

See how to make jellied candy with fresh peaches.

How to Make Chocolate Strawberries

Watch how to make decadent chocolate-covered strawberries in five easy steps.

Delicious Matzo Candy

See how to make amazing candy from matzo!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States