Candy Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2007
I have used this site for years but never reviewed a recipe, until now!! This is great ice cream. I was a bit nervous as I only had fat free cool whip in the house and it usually makes my recipes flop, but not this one!! I don't know why I would try regular cool whip as it took some of the guilt out of this recipe. I also used 1% milk and only a half cup of sugar but may even reduce that to 1/4 cup next time. Added Oreos and it was perfect!! I love the fact that there is no eggs in this recipe as I have small children so taking the time to cook the ice cream is out of the question, and feeding the kids raw eggs makes me nervous. Thanks again for a GREAT recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2007
I'm sorry, this was way too rich for us. It was like eating soft marshmallows. I made it without the candy. Can't imagine what it would be like with it. Must be 1000 calories a scoop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bmatheson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelley, Idaho, USA
Living In: Layton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2007
Wow, this was great!! Tried a few ice cream recipes but this is the best. Used snickers in one and strawberries in the other both were excellent. Use only 1/2 cup of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2007
Phew... I omitted some of the sugar and this recipe was still SOOO sweet. Even my boyfriend with Candy for teeth still thought it was too sweet. I don't recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kandyb23

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pleasanton, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2006
Super ice cream! I halved the sugar and it was still too sweet for my liking. I will leave out next time. Also, my ice cream machine instructions suggests using an electric mixer to increase the volume (for recipes that don't require cooking) I did this and almost did not have room for the milk! Stirred in oreo cookies towards the end. Threw it in the freezer and hope no one finds it until our get together! Love this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2006
This was a wonderful recipe. I made it w/ crushed oreos instead of candy pieces. I also halved the sugar, as some reviews suggested and it was still a little too sweet. Next time I will leave out the sugar completely. The texture of the ice cream was what made it so amazing though!! Very light and fluffy and delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ATHOMELAUREL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2006
This is an awesome base for a lot of ice cream flavors. I have used a lot of different candy, including chocolate chips, candy bars, and cookies. I also use low fat or fat free ingredients (besides the candy, of course)and it tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2006
This is wonderful ice cream and super easy (a big plus in my book). I used this recipe for an ice cream social where, like another contributor, I added chunks of York peppermint patties instead of candy coated chocolate. It turned out great, the ice cream had a hint of peppermint flavor with the bonus of candy chunks. I also tried with crushed Butterfingers and it was fabulous. I think that this is a great base ice cream with endless possibilities. Please note that the recipe says the prep time is 3 hours and 5 minutes...using my ice cream freezer there was 5 minutes of prep (if even that) and 45 minutes of freezing...so it is quick, too. This is definately a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gibbon, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2006
My husband and I LOVE this recipe! I use light whipped topping and skim milk. Even creamier with half-and-half. We have used this basic recipe to make strawberry, chocolate chip, and peanutbutter/chocolate swirl ice cream. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2006
This was the first time i have made ice cream and it was a hit! I made butterfinger and andies mint ice cream. I did only use 1/2 c. of sugar and I just poured the milk till it hit the fill line in out maker. Definitly make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Camp Lejeune, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Blountville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Green Tea Mochi Ice Cream

See how to make green tea mochi-wrapped vanilla ice cream.

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Easy Homemade Ice Cream

Cool off with quick-and-easy homemade ice cream—no ice cream maker required!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States