Candy Corn Popcorn Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2004
I made these tonight with my 4 year old daughter. She was very excited- these include some of her favorite things- popcorn, marshmallows, and candy corn. We omitted the jello based on previous reviews. Unfortunately, we were extremely disappointed. These were so sickeningly sweet that even she wouldn't eat them. We were planning on giving them to some of her friends at a halloween party tomorrow, but she's going to make them cards instead. If they don't go over well with a four year old with a sweet tooth, I'm not sure who else will enjoy them. Sorry- these sounded like a good idea, but they sure weren't for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicopee, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Windsor, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2004
Gretat idea using the candy corn. But I left out the jell-o and just used food coloring to make them orange. Just like mom used to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2003
We did not like these at all!! THey are way too sweet!! Use much less of the jello (less than half the package - or none at all). They should be alright then.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2003
These were horrible. I made them for my son's first grade class and although they looked fun, no one ate them at all. Don't waste your time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2003
This recipe was RETCHEDLY too sweet. Even the children at my sons preschool would not eat them. It was a great idea! We had sooo much fun making them, we just couldn't eat them. I would recommend adding 1/2 of the jello mix then maybe it wouldn't be so sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2002
I am a homeroom mother in two of my children's classes and this is always a halloween favorite. I used orange Jello. Actually this would work well for any holiday celebration, just tint with Jello according to the colors of the season and add seasonal candy. For example, cherry or lime for Christmas with Christmas M&M's instead of candy corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2001
I've always wanted to make popcorn balls and now that I know its so easy, I'll do it more often. I added more candy corn than was called for and I would leave out the gelatin next time. I would rather just have a popcorn taste than a strawberry or orange taste Just watch out for those unpopped kernals - ouch!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2001
great recipe, my kids loved them. when making the balls, wet your hands much, much easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States