Candy Corn Bark Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2006
I tested this recipe out at work and it was a hit. I didnt have raisins so I used craisins and it was fine. Next time I will add peanuts for a little more salty flavor and maybe leave out the craisins alltogether.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2006
I've made this twice, first as directed. I found that the cookies got soggy when the chocolate sat on them, even when stored in an air tight container. Also, the raisins didn't give it that something crunchy I was looking for, but rather were an unpleasant chewy ingredient. So for my second try, I omitted the cookies and raisins, and added redskin spanish peanuts. It was a hit! The peanuts added the crunch that I was looking for and the salt was a good contrast to all of the sweet. This will definately be a new fall, must have, treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
211 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oxford, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hamilton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2006
Loved this fun snack. Sub peanuts IPO raisins ~ reminded me of a sweeter salted nut roll. Fun and easy to make and use up that candy corn that no one eats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2006
great recipe, I added halloween colored peaut m&m's for extra color and crunch. It was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2006
Yummy! I used 3 bags of white baking chips, which isn't quite 1-1/2 pounds, but it was enough. I added cashews and substituted craisins for raisins. You could really pick and choose all kinds of ingredients to put in it and do different seasonal color schemes. For me, the candy corn is going to be kept to a minimum just for how pretty it is because the chewiness isn't the best with the other ingredients. I laid waxed paper on a baking sheet and spread my ingredients over that then once my candy corn was sprinkled over the top I pressed down with another sheet of waxed paper to embed all the bits into the white chocolate and waited till it was chilled to peel off the paper. It's a really pretty snack and hard to stop nibbling on despite how sweet it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2006
Loved this recipe, however I thought the candycorn made it a bit too sweet, so I made it without it and was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2007
This was really sweet and didn't have a great flavor-just super sweet-I used craisins instead of raisins and people said they liked that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KatieMac

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tecumseh, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Ledge, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MEREDITHRAE24
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2007
Very yummy!!!! All of the textures and flavors were a perfect combination; some crunchiness, chewiness, sweetness, and saltiness. I took the advice of putting it on wax paper, topping it with wax paper, and kind of smashing it all together. Instead of raisins, I used craisins. And I also added 1 cup of peanut M&Ms for crunch and color. I don't think I used the entire amount of candy corn, just enough for effect. And the cookies did not get soggy at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2007
So sweet and so good! You def. need to have a sweet tooth to enjoy this simple recipe. I prepared mine without the pretzels, but it still turned out very good. I also had trouble with my candy corn melting a little, but no one seemed to notice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Laurenski
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
Ok, DO NOT use a chopper to chop the Oreo cookies. Sounds like a time saver right? The cookies become too powdery and will turn your bark grey. (See photo.) I made a second batch with chocolate flavored bark and just broke the cookies into quarters. This worked MUCH better. (I will try this again with the white bark.) I omitted the raisins and the flavor was really good. Great fall gift/recipe. **Also, kudos to Meredith for a beautiful photo.**
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kettle Corn

See how to make your own old-fashioned kettle corn from scratch!

Peppermint Bark

These 5-star Christmas candies are layered with chocolate and peppermint.

Delicious Matzo Candy

See how to make amazing candy from matzo!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States