Candy Coated Pecans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
These are sooo addictive. My fav. guilty pleasure. They are extra great warm right out of the oven. I never use exact amounts of nuts or sugar but they always turn out. I omit the wax paper and just put them on a cookie sheet. A friend of mine makes them with chilli flakes so they are sweet and spicey. That is a good version, but I prefer the original myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanya Keusen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
Phenomenal!! Absolutely loved these! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pepper
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
These were fine, how can you go wrong with pecans and sugar? I think it is crucial to get your egg white to a "stiff" state, otherwise the pecans just absorb the liquid, resulting in the puffy, mushy ones others have complained of. I like to put my pecans in a separate bowl, and then add the sugar/white mixture to them, spoonful by spoonful. This way you can control how heavily you coat your pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pepper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
Awesome recipe! Taste EXACTLY like the candied pecans you get from the mall. My husband and I started eating them before they even cooled down! The only suggestion I have is to add in some cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Riskie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Wentzville, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2010
These didn't crisp as I had hoped. I had to cook for an extra 10 minutes. Still totally awesome. I used on Pancakes and in a salad. yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
I didn't change a thing. Great in salads, or just to snack on. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
yum! I use these in my oatmeal and salads and they're delicious. Much better than having to pay for them at the store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Oceanside, California, USA
Living In: Vista, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
I love making these myself to put on salads because they are cheaper than buying candied ones at the store. I just add a little cinnamon and salt to the recipe and my husband & I love them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STACYRBROWN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
Oh my goodness!! Wow these were great. They turned out perfectly - my husband couldn't keep his hands off of them. I followed the directions pretty closely, except I added about a T of cinnamon and put them in a 300 degree oven for 15 minutes, then took them out and stirred them a bit and returned them to the oven for about another seven minutes. Sooooo good. I think I will try the recipe with almonds next.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orange, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
Got candied pecans in Gatlinburg and thought I'de try to make them. This pecan treat was every bit as good as the one we paid $5.00 for a small sleeve of!! They are quick and delish!! I did follow the suggestions and put some cinnamon and a sprinkling of white sugar in the mix and cooked at 300 for 28 min. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vonore, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 262) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sugar Coated Pecans

See how to make the perfect sweet snack.

Sugar Glazed Pecans

Learn how to make this quick and easy, sweet and savory snack.

Delicious Matzo Candy

See how to make amazing candy from matzo!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States