Candy Coated Pecans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
We loved this, and I would give it five stars if the baking time weren't so far off. I adjusted the recipe and bake time after reading reviews. Used one whipped stiff egg white, 1 cup brown sugar packed, 1/2 tsp cinnamon, 1 & 1/2 tsp vanilla, 1/4 tsp butter extract and 4 cups pecan halves. Spread it out onto non stick foil, baked 10 minutes. As it is extremely gooey at first, I stirred and dumped it all onto a new sheet of non stick foil before returning to oven. Baked 20 more minutes stirring after the first 10. They came out perfect after a full 30 minutes at 275 degrees. Cooled slightly, dumped onto wax paper to finish cooling and broke apart clumps before they hardened. Then I jarred them and fancied up the jars with ribbon and gift tags for delicious Christmas gifts. May be our new holiday gift tradition! Irresistible!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
These pecans tasted outrageously sweet. And as another reviewer said.....they have an unappealing tan color due to the coating. I added 1/2 teaspoon of cinnamon. But I don't think that added to the sweetness. I followed the 15 minutes in the oven as directed. But they turned out gummy and all stuck together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
Very good! A favorite around here year round. I use Splenda brown and add 1 tsp of cinnamon. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
I added 1 tbsp cinnamon, 1 tsp salt, and used 1/2c white and 1/2c brown sugar, and half the pecans, laid on wax paper with cooking spray, cooked 45 min at 300 degrees, stirring every 15 min. Turned out crispy and wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Swedish Mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2013
Great! Perfectly simple. I halved the recipe and cooked it for about 20 minutes longer. Used parchment, no sticking at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
Love this recipe. I started making these after visiting Cajun country and coming home to Wisconsin with a LOT of pecans. I use half cup of white and brown sugar, 1 teaspoon of cinnamon, the vanilla, a good drizzle of Steen's pure cane syrup( also a gift from cajun country). After I get them all spread out on the greased parchment, I sprinkle very coarse sea salt sparingly over them all. That little salty bite is a nice addition to the sweet tasty pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
Pretty good but should be eaten within a few days and a bit messy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALYSEWINE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Paris, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
Delicious and deadly! Couldn't stop eating them. So much better than the ones I buy at the store! I used vanillas extract instead of the water and used 8oz. pecans instead of 16 oz. and they were extra brown sugary coated!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
When I was a child, we had a neighborhood Pecan Orchard. They would make these every Christmas and let us have as many as we could put in a small bag for free. I have always wondered if I would someday find the recipe so I could make them myself, now that I am an adult. These turned out wonderful. What a taste treat, and what a wonderful memory they recalled in me. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Pahrump, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
Excellent snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 262) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sugar Coated Pecans

See how to make the perfect sweet snack.

Sugar Glazed Pecans

Learn how to make this quick and easy, sweet and savory snack.

Delicious Matzo Candy

See how to make amazing candy from matzo!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States