Candy Coated Pecans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
These are SO good!! Very addictive!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by S.RalstoninGA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roanoke, Virginia, USA
Living In: Waco, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
Rave reviews. Used 2 cups pecan. Great for Christmas gifts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Delish!!! Followed suggestions in the reviews- made sure the whites were really stiff and I baked them about 30 minutes. I tried adding cocoa powder to the mix, and wow!! I also found stirring them right out of the oven and sprinkling more sugar/cocoa while there was still a tiny bit of moisture gave them a tasty powdery coating. For future baking I want to try cinnamon and also a second coating and round of baking for a candy coating. Will probably rotate through the options just for tasty variety as the powdery finish was fabulous too :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Flecka

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Chico, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
We loved this, and I would give it five stars if the baking time weren't so far off. I adjusted the recipe and bake time after reading reviews. Used one whipped stiff egg white, 1 cup brown sugar packed, 1/2 tsp cinnamon, 1 & 1/2 tsp vanilla, 1/4 tsp butter extract and 4 cups pecan halves. Spread it out onto non stick foil, baked 10 minutes. As it is extremely gooey at first, I stirred and dumped it all onto a new sheet of non stick foil before returning to oven. Baked 20 more minutes stirring after the first 10. They came out perfect after a full 30 minutes at 275 degrees. Cooled slightly, dumped onto wax paper to finish cooling and broke apart clumps before they hardened. Then I jarred them and fancied up the jars with ribbon and gift tags for delicious Christmas gifts. May be our new holiday gift tradition! Irresistible!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
These pecans tasted outrageously sweet. And as another reviewer said.....they have an unappealing tan color due to the coating. I added 1/2 teaspoon of cinnamon. But I don't think that added to the sweetness. I followed the 15 minutes in the oven as directed. But they turned out gummy and all stuck together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
Very good! A favorite around here year round. I use Splenda brown and add 1 tsp of cinnamon. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
I added 1 tbsp cinnamon, 1 tsp salt, and used 1/2c white and 1/2c brown sugar, and half the pecans, laid on wax paper with cooking spray, cooked 45 min at 300 degrees, stirring every 15 min. Turned out crispy and wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Swedish Mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2013
Great! Perfectly simple. I halved the recipe and cooked it for about 20 minutes longer. Used parchment, no sticking at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
Love this recipe. I started making these after visiting Cajun country and coming home to Wisconsin with a LOT of pecans. I use half cup of white and brown sugar, 1 teaspoon of cinnamon, the vanilla, a good drizzle of Steen's pure cane syrup( also a gift from cajun country). After I get them all spread out on the greased parchment, I sprinkle very coarse sea salt sparingly over them all. That little salty bite is a nice addition to the sweet tasty pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
Pretty good but should be eaten within a few days and a bit messy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALYSEWINE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Paris, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 265) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sugar Coated Pecans

See how to make the perfect sweet snack.

Sugar Glazed Pecans

Learn how to make this quick and easy, sweet and savory snack.

Delicious Matzo Candy

See how to make amazing candy from matzo!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States