Candy Coated Pecans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2005
After reading all the prior reviews I made a few adjustments. This is a fantastic recipe, I just adjusted it to fit our taste. I upped the oven temperature to 300. I doubeled the coating. I baked them for the maxium time noted. I then took them out and stirred them up. I used cinn/sugae and sprinkeled it generousally all ove the nuts and stirred again. I then put them back in the oven until the were no longer shiny. They came out just like the nuts in the mall. Crunchy, slightly sweet and impossible to keep you hands off of!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
587 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flagtown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2002
I was impressed at how easy these were to make. I wish I had read all the reviews first, so I would have added some cinnamon, but they were still good. The only difference is that I used parchment paper instead of wax paper and I did not spray it. They did not stick at all. Thanks for a very easy and tasty treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
277 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2003
This is a good recipe (I added about 1/2 tsp cinammon to it - yummy!) but you really have to do what it says. The eggwhite must really be STIFF. If it isn't the nuts will be soggy and stick together. In order not to add anymore moisture, I used Reynolds Release foil and ditched the PAM spray. Even still, I found they needed to be baked longer (maybe 1/2 hour total)and that as they were cooling, I had to turn them to get them dry all around. They stored nicely for almost a month in a ziplock bag. They were the perfect addition to my Citrus Splash Salad! These will be trotted out in my house again at Christmas time for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
271 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Golden, Colorado, USA
Living In: Redmond, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2003
I made these last year after reading everyone's comments. What a hit! I adapted the recipe by doubling all the coating ingredients for the 4 cups of pecans; I also added 1 tsp honey and about 1 TBSP cinnamon to mixture. Then after laying out on baking sheet, I heavily sprinkley mixed cinnamon sugar over them. I did bake about 40 minutes and cooled on racks. They were such a hit last year, I'm making 24 cups of nuts, pecans and almonds this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
122 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2003
This recipe was excellent. I made them to give as Christmas gifts for extras at our usual family gathering. My husband almost wouldn't let me give them away. I altered the recipe slightly...I doubled the ingredients except for the egg white, added 1 Tbsp. of cinnamon, 1 tsp. honey, and sprinkled them with cinnamon sugar before baking. I also baked mine for about 25-30 minutes. *NOTE* It doesn't matter if you spray the wax paper with cooking spray...they still stick. As soon as they are done remove them from the wax paper, or you will be picking it off the back of the hard candy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
112 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mountain Home, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2006
These are just like store bought candied pecans! I had to cook mine much longer (I eventually turned up the oven to 350), but they came out perfectly. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RWLEVINSON

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Davis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2006
With the following changes, I found these to be addicting: Doubled the coating (or half the amt. of nuts),add cinnamon and xtra vanilla. I also found this took longer to cook-ALSO don't forget to greese the wax paper, that makes a huge difference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by natsmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2002
This was definetly a hit. A wonderful snack for the holidays or even a nice little gift in a decorated container.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
I've been making these for years. I do it a little differently. I use 2 egg whites and I only use a whisk and beat them until they're really frothy but not stiff. I use part white sugar and part brown sugar and definitely add cinnamon. After beating the egg whites I just add 1 pound of pecan halves and pour them onto a large baking sheet that's been sprayed with cooking spray. Make sure have a sheet big enough so that you don't have to pile them on top of each other or they stick together and don't toast up as well. I bake them at 250 for 1 hour and stir them every 15 minutes. You get beautifully toasted and crunchy pecans every time. The longer roasting time really brings out the flavor of the pecans and you never get soggy ones. This is a family favorite year round.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2003
tried this recipe twice and both times the nuts came out soggy and sticky. Very disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 258) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sugar Coated Pecans

See how to make the perfect sweet snack.

Sugar Glazed Pecans

Learn how to make this quick and easy, sweet and savory snack.

Deep-Fried Candy Bars

See how to make candy bars even yummier.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States