Candy Coated Pecans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
These are awesome! I followed the advice/changes that Carolynanne made and they turned out fantastic. We love getting these at the mall when they have them and now I can enjoy them anytime I want!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kara LeMay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sanford, Florida, USA
Living In: Fort Meade, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
I rated the recipe as written, but I have since made several changes which in my opinion has improved the flavor/texture. Double the topping and use half white/half brown sugar and add a generous teaspoon of cinnamon. Bake at 300 degrees for 30 minutes. When it gets out of the oven I did sprinkle with a little bit more cinnamon sugar, but it probably doesn't need it. Super crunchy and impossible to resist! I have to hide these from the kids and my husband so we don't eat them all the first day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
I've been making these for years. I do it a little differently. I use 2 egg whites and I only use a whisk and beat them until they're really frothy but not stiff. I use part white sugar and part brown sugar and definitely add cinnamon. After beating the egg whites I just add 1 pound of pecan halves and pour them onto a large baking sheet that's been sprayed with cooking spray. Make sure have a sheet big enough so that you don't have to pile them on top of each other or they stick together and don't toast up as well. I bake them at 250 for 1 hour and stir them every 15 minutes. You get beautifully toasted and crunchy pecans every time. The longer roasting time really brings out the flavor of the pecans and you never get soggy ones. This is a family favorite year round.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
Easy and delicious! Nice balance between nutty and sweet. Used parchment paper without cooking spray and it was fine. Next time I'll add cinnamon to the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
My family LOVES these. I am giving them 4 stars because as written they are very good, but if you add the extra cinnamon and sugar toward the end like a previous reviewer suggested, then they are worth 5 stars. I use them in cream cheese frosting on carrot cake and it's to die for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brookings, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
Perfect. Exactly what I wanted. I did find they do better if you let them dry on the pan for at least an hour after baking...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
These are sooo addictive. My fav. guilty pleasure. They are extra great warm right out of the oven. I never use exact amounts of nuts or sugar but they always turn out. I omit the wax paper and just put them on a cookie sheet. A friend of mine makes them with chilli flakes so they are sweet and spicey. That is a good version, but I prefer the original myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanya Keusen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
Phenomenal!! Absolutely loved these! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pepper
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
These were fine, how can you go wrong with pecans and sugar? I think it is crucial to get your egg white to a "stiff" state, otherwise the pecans just absorb the liquid, resulting in the puffy, mushy ones others have complained of. I like to put my pecans in a separate bowl, and then add the sugar/white mixture to them, spoonful by spoonful. This way you can control how heavily you coat your pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pepper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
Awesome recipe! Taste EXACTLY like the candied pecans you get from the mall. My husband and I started eating them before they even cooled down! The only suggestion I have is to add in some cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Riskie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Wentzville, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 258) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sugar Coated Pecans

See how to make the perfect sweet snack.

Sugar Glazed Pecans

Learn how to make this quick and easy, sweet and savory snack.

Deep-Fried Candy Bars

See how to make candy bars even yummier.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States