Candy-Coated Milk Chocolate Pieces Party Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
This was a great recipe. I made one change, i used butter instead of shortening. They turned out fine! only "bad" thing i have to say is that the cookies only took 8.5 minutes. No where near the 10-14 they suggest! but everyone knows with cookies you have to watch the first batch to see how long it will take. Very good recipe indeed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2004
This is my favorite M&M cookie recipe. The only change I make is to use butter instead of shortening. They come out perfectly chewy and stay that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2012
I used half shortening, half salted butter. I made no other changes. I actually baked mine at 350* for eleven minutes--the reason for the longer cooking time was because I really packed my small cookie scoop to make bigger sized cookies which meant they needed a touch longer bake time. They turned out soft, chewy and were loved by my husband and two kids. Next time, I will try this with Reese's pieces and maybe half peanut butter in place of some of the shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
As most chocolate cookies are, this is a slight variation of “Original NESTLÉ® TOLL HOUSE® Chocolate Chip Cookies.” I like the use of shortening rather than all butter in this recipe for the sturdiness it imparts, but wanting the best of both worlds, I used half of each. Going into this I knew this would be a moister, softer cookie, just by virtue of the fact that there is a higher ratio of brown sugar to white sugar. Because I like my cookies crunchier, I knew this would not be MY favorite, but I know this texture appeals to most – and that’s what it delivered. These are indeed soft and tender, but chewy at the same time. I had mini M & M’s in the pantry, so I correspondingly made the cookies smaller too. As I do with all my cookies containing butter, I chilled the dough for about an hour before I baked them. These cheery two-bite cuties will be well-liked at Hubs’ meeting tomorrow morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2000
I absolutley love these cookies. They stay nice and soft, and chewy. Very, very excellent recipe. They go together quick, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2006
This is a great recipe!! It is very similar to my chocolate chip cookie recipe so, I decided to tweek it a bit. Instead of the 1/2 cup of sugar, I used 1/4 cup of sugar and then added a 3.4 oz. box of instant vanilla pudding. This recipe is a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2004
At Christmas, I use the red and green M&Ms and they are always a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2006
I loved this recipe! I am an avid cook w/four cookie cookbooks and found this one to be great! I used chocolate chips and Reese's Pieces in it instead, since this is what I had on hand, and they came out soft, chewy and very yummy! Even my 5 year old loved them and he doesn't even like chocolate! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
These were so easy and fun to make. I didn't have enough shortening so I took the advice of a few below and used butter. They look great and festive with the red and green m&m's. One review said you couldn't see the candy so she will put on top instead of inside so my first batch didn't have enough. I decided to to put all colors other than red and green in the mix and then place the red and green on top before baking and PERFECT!! I hope they taste as good as they look and smell. The kids at the cookie exchange will be the judge of that. Thanks for sharing!! M
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happy mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
These were very good. I made them for a school Easter party and used easter colored candy. My only problem with them was that by mixing the candy into the batter you couldn't see them as well. Next time I would save some and put them on the top of the cookies just before baking so they look prettier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenznc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iron Mountain, Michigan, USA
Living In: Holly Springs, North Carolina, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States