Candy-Coated Milk Chocolate Pieces Party Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: May 23, 2012
I used all shortening--not necessarily bc I didn't want to use something else, but bc I inherited shortening. Yes, really, bf brought it back from his grandmother's house, so I needed to do something with it. I still have a lot, but it used up a good amount. The cookies are pretty good, but they don't really spread and flatten with just shortening. That's my only complaint. They are very chocolatey--chocolate fans won't complain, I don't think--bc of the M&Ms. Very easy, and bc I used my medium sized cookie scoop, these took 11 mins each. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2012
I used half shortening, half salted butter. I made no other changes. I actually baked mine at 350* for eleven minutes--the reason for the longer cooking time was because I really packed my small cookie scoop to make bigger sized cookies which meant they needed a touch longer bake time. They turned out soft, chewy and were loved by my husband and two kids. Next time, I will try this with Reese's pieces and maybe half peanut butter in place of some of the shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
As most chocolate cookies are, this is a slight variation of “Original NESTLÉ® TOLL HOUSE® Chocolate Chip Cookies.” I like the use of shortening rather than all butter in this recipe for the sturdiness it imparts, but wanting the best of both worlds, I used half of each. Going into this I knew this would be a moister, softer cookie, just by virtue of the fact that there is a higher ratio of brown sugar to white sugar. Because I like my cookies crunchier, I knew this would not be MY favorite, but I know this texture appeals to most – and that’s what it delivered. These are indeed soft and tender, but chewy at the same time. I had mini M & M’s in the pantry, so I correspondingly made the cookies smaller too. As I do with all my cookies containing butter, I chilled the dough for about an hour before I baked them. These cheery two-bite cuties will be well-liked at Hubs’ meeting tomorrow morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
These baked up perfectly. They taste like store-bought cookies...which is what I was looking for. I used mini M&M's and they were a big hit with my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
these are really god no doubt about it, but they cook so quickly. within 5 minuets they were burning
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
These were so easy and fun to make. I didn't have enough shortening so I took the advice of a few below and used butter. They look great and festive with the red and green m&m's. One review said you couldn't see the candy so she will put on top instead of inside so my first batch didn't have enough. I decided to to put all colors other than red and green in the mix and then place the red and green on top before baking and PERFECT!! I hope they taste as good as they look and smell. The kids at the cookie exchange will be the judge of that. Thanks for sharing!! M
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happy mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lil Mermaid
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
A keeper! I only baked them for 8 min. and got nice, soft cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lil Mermaid

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mansfield, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
I tried making them in lump and instead of it evening out it stay like that . oh well the cookies where OK just lumpy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hellokitty:)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
Excellent! Be sure to follow the sifting instructions, very important. I used Peanut M&M's turned out fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikki

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elkhart, Indiana, USA
Living In: Silver Lake, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
My friend gave me this recipe and people always rave when I make them. I have always used butter flavored Crisco. I like to keep some of the M&Ms out of the batch to press them on top before baking for presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mooti

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States