Candy Cane Popcorn Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
I added Christmas M&Ms and peanuts to the mixture for some sweet and salty goodness. Also I followed some other reviewers' advice and used white chocolate chips. We loved it. But I had to divide it into two batches because I didn't have a big enough bowl for mixing. In one half, I sprinkled the candy cane, M&Ms, and peanuts into the popcorn while I was melting the chocolate. This doesn't work because the candy cane doesn't stick to the popcorn. Make sure to add the chocolate to the popcorn before the candy cane.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
As for taste, this is a yummy and fun recipe. Not to mention easy. However, I wish it stated how many bags of popcorn vs. air popped popcorn. I did 3 regular sized bags and ended up melting another 4oz. Of white chocolate chips. And still, there was quite a bit of popcorn not covered with the chocolate and peppermint, which is fine cos I don't want it too sweet, but at the same time, a bit more would've been better. So next time I will make 2 bags of popcorn and add 8 oz. of melted white chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
The only untouched dish at our holiday party. A little weird.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smart cookie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
This is so addicting! Such a great idea for popcorn! My mom made 4 bags of popcorn with this and added in some m&m's in with it as well. So good! Crushing the candy canes real fine so that there aren't many chunks and giving it a nice subtle peppermint flavor it how I prefer it. With the popcorn and m&m's, it would also be good adding in pretzels and peanuts to make a sweet n salty mix. So good, thanks for this great recipe idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Indiana, USA
Living In: Moores Hill, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
I made this to give to coworkers. They loved it. A bit of a mess, but worth it. I used the bagged popcorn, and Andes peppermint crunch baking chips instead. I bought the white popcorn. 3 bags of popcorn,1/2 of the 10oz bag of Andes, & 1 12oz bag of white chocolate chips. I used the paper bag method to mix, like suggested in another review. Which seemed to be an easier way to mix. I did use my hand to mix after shaking the bag. It was a big hit!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
Loved it!!! Used a popcorn popper and the kids loved it. Whizzed the candy canes in the magic bullet and it was perfect. Easy to make but definitely not 40 servings, for us. We made 3x to get 25 treat bags, and then another double batch for 13 smaller treat bags. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
I threw in some mini marshmallows, it was even better with them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
My girlfriend sent me some of this in a Christmas package and I love it. It can be habit forming !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
This is a great fun and delicious holiday treat for kids. I liked it too! Not too sweet either. One thing I would recommend is using a deep dutch oven to mix. I used my extra large mixing bowl which resulted in popcorn all over the counter. It gets your hands a little messy, but overall is very easy to whip up. I lightly crushed tiny peppermint pillow candies (about 2/3 of a cup) as I find canes are notoriously hard to crush evenly. I see this becoming an oft requested Christmas treat in my world!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
This is delicious! Laura, the amount is 4 oz. for chips or chocolate or whatever you use as a coating. Other posters are saying you can use more if you want.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Moosic, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Seneca Falls, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Decorate a Candy Cane Cake

This festive candy cane cake will delight your holiday guests.

Candy Cane Cookies II

Candy cane-shaped Christmas cookies decorated with crushed peppermint candies.

Candy Cane Cocoa

Bring on the holiday cheer with the perfect drink to sip while trimming the tree.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States