Candy Cane Fudge Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2006
I doubled this recipe because I needed a lot of it. I put it in a 9x13 pan and used two boxes or 24 candy canes crushed up. I also added a 1/4 tsp more of the extract and used a few drops of red food coloring adding one drop add a time. After adding each drop I stirred it just enough to give it a swirling effect. Without the red food coloring it was a pale yellow/cream color which I thought was unappetizing. I cooled it in the fridge then cut it into 1 inch squares. I brought a plate of it to a holiday party and the hostess was kind of upset that all of my candy was eaten and her fancy sweets from the bakery were leftover. This is a GREAT recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
246 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2005
This is so easy and tastes great also!! I made this one time, and have had 5 people ask for the recipe! Cut the recipe in half, use a round cake pan, using the empty can of condensed milk in the middle put the fudge around the can and you can make a wreath and decorate it. So easy and beautiful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
221 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2005
Everyone loved this fudge! Instead of just mixing in the food coloring I did a swirl effect right before putting it in the refrigerator.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
116 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Flemington, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2005
This is my second year making this recipe and I will probably make it every year from now on. Everyone who's tasted it raves about it, even my 3 kids who don't care all that much for peppermint. A few trial and error tips: Last year I added the red food coloring and the fudge came out pink.. I wasn't really pleased with that. This year I left out the food coloring altogether and I think it's much prettier this way. Also, there is no need for the added fat of "greasing" the foil. Use Glad's Press and Seal Wrap (make sure you refrigerate for the full 2 hours!) and it peels right off with no sticking. Also, make sure you use candy canes that are easy to crush. If the chunks are too big the fudge won't cut easily. Last year I used the individually wrapped, round peppermints but I thought it was better this year using regular, cheapo candy canes. I put a tin of this in all of my Christmas packages this year, it's a nice change from the traditional chocolate with nuts fudge that everyone else makes. Now somebody please stop me before I go eat it all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Georgia, USA
Living In: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2005
This was a huge hit at work! I used white choco chips instead of vanilla chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2005
This is really great candy. I don't know if I could classify it as fudge- because it is the texture of a chocolate bar. The flavor is great. I only used 1 cup of crushed candy canes. I added about 2 tsp. of peppermint extract though so that you could actually taste the mint. I colored it red- and thought it to be a bit of an eyesore. I didn't have any extra candy canes to crush and sprinkle on, but that would've made it look great. Instead, I had some green mint chips. I melted them in the microwave, and spread them over the fudge. It was green and red layered- it really added a lot to the presentation. I will try this with milk chocolate too. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SARRAHS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
Made this for Christmas party & everyone LOVED it! It took 25 (+ or -) candy canes to get 1 1/2 c.; I put them inside a large ziplock bag before crushing them with a hammer (helpful hint :)). Very tasty & sooo easy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2006
This one was a hit at my house. I only had 1 cup of crushed candy canes on hand, and it turned out great (12 candy canes = 1 cup crushed). I almost think that 1-1/2 cups might have been too much. My husband took a bunch to work and they were gobbled up quickly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glen Burnie, Maryland, USA
Living In: Hanford, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2006
My husband helped me make this fudge--that's how eager he was to try it! It was worth his effort. I didn't add the food coloring, because I wanted white fudge. I also sprinkled an extra cup of candy canes over the top (for extra good looks), which resulted in too much peppermint. Next time, I'll just mix in 1/2 the candy cane amount into the fudge and reserve the rest for the top. Great, easy recipe that is a perfect addition to cookie plates.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middlebury, Indiana, USA
Living In: Atmore, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Leslie Sullivan
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2006
Oh this was yummy! It was a soft fudge, so I might experiment with changing some things to chane the texture a little more. The crunch of the candy canes made a nice partner to the soft texture of the fudge and poingent peppermint taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie Sullivan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Estacada, Oregon, USA
Living In: Hood River, Oregon, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 297) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Decorate a Candy Cane Cake

This festive candy cane cake will delight your holiday guests.

Candy Cane Cookies II

Candy cane-shaped Christmas cookies decorated with crushed peppermint candies.

World's Best Peanut Fudge

See how to make a rich-and-creamy peanut butter fudge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States