Candy Cane Fudge Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
Great recipe! Easy to follow with awesome results. My family lovessss it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bennington, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
I tried to make this and it came out okay. It was soft and sticky like thick frosting but I read elsewhere that I might not have cooked it long enough so now I'm trying to fix it. Hope this works! :fingers crossed:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Wakefield, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
Made this tonight for my hubby to share with coworkers for Christmas. Unfortunately, when I went to the store, they were out of peppermint extract. I bought cinnamon extract and used that instead with the round cinnamon discs crushed up (same measurements as if it had been peppermint). It turned out so yummy! Super easy and quick to make and oh so delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
I hate to see all the negative reviews on this, but I get it. It's not for everyone. I made this last year and made it again because I am one of the people who really enjoys it! Last year my husband accidentally bought the old-fashioned candy canes, which are softer, almost like dinner mint-consistency. They are the thick sticks about 5 inches long. I haven't tried it with the harder, starlight-type candy canes, and I probably won't because I like it with the sticks. Last year I doubled the peppermint in it and I thought it was too minty. This year I followed the directions exactly, with the exception of using old-fashioned candy canes, and I thought it was perfect. My father-in-law loved it, my husband didn't; half my daughter's friends (sixth graders) loved it, the other half didn't. My son likes it but doesn't love it. This is not a soft, creamy-type fudge, it does work out to be more like candy, as someone else said. I think it tastes a lot like a dinner mint and I love those, so I'll continue to make this every holiday. For those who think it's not minty enough, maybe go up to 3/4 tsp of peppermint extract. I like the subtle minty flavor with 1/2 tsp myself. Couldn't be easier, no boiling or painful candy burns! Four stars easy. Would give five if it turned out more like traditional fudge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
Mmmmmm.... so good. I just finished a test batch of the fudge to give away as holiday treats, and I'm loving them. I might have to give it away today,before I eat the whole pan full. I made it almost exactly as written, except for the food coloring. i first put the chocolate mixture into the dish, then put 5 scattered dots of red coloring, then swirled then. Very pretty presentation. I did also sprinkle a few pieces of the crushed candy canes on top before chilling. I might omit this next time though. A little too much crunch as per hubby's remarks. All in all.... easy and inexpensive. Will definitely be using this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
This was very disappointing, the texture came out fine, it just taste like white chocolate chips with candy cane pieces, nothing spectacular that warrants the high ratings. Maybe additional peppermint extract should be added for more peppermint flavor. I would not make this again, I feel I wasted my time and money on something that was not very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
My son liked this but I didn't. To me, it just tasted like melted chips with candy cane flavoring. Sorry, nothing like the fudge I was hoping for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
I love anything peppermint but something was really missing here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by courtbake87
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
I used vanilla flavored almond bark instead of vanilla baking chips, because there weren't any vanilla baking chips in the store. It still came out good! I will use more peppermint extract the next time I make this and try it with the vanilla baking chips. The fudge has a similar taste to candy cane hershey kisses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by courtbake87

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by armygirl207
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
It was a simple recipe and made for a good Christmas party treat. It was a little chewy, where I expected more of a thick fudge like texture. I only used 1 cup of candy canes (because thats all I had, I didnt realize 3/4 of a box of mini canes would make so little) but it was plenty. Out of that 1 cup I saved a little bit to layer the top with and I am glad that I did. I took the advice of others on here and didnt add the food coloring until I put it in the pan, then I dropped it in small drops and swirled it. I liked the look of that better then it being all pink. Other then that it was a pretty good recipe and makes a really good addition to a cookie platter for a holiday get together. My only advice is cut the squares pretty small, it is a very rich sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by armygirl207

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bend, Oregon, USA
Living In: Fort Eustis, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 303) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Decorate a Candy Cane Cake

This festive candy cane cake will delight your holiday guests.

Candy Cane Cookies II

Candy cane-shaped Christmas cookies decorated with crushed peppermint candies.

World's Best Peanut Fudge

See how to make a rich-and-creamy peanut butter fudge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States