Candy Cane Fudge Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
My son liked this but I didn't. To me, it just tasted like melted chips with candy cane flavoring. Sorry, nothing like the fudge I was hoping for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
I love anything peppermint but something was really missing here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by courtbake87
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
I used vanilla flavored almond bark instead of vanilla baking chips, because there weren't any vanilla baking chips in the store. It still came out good! I will use more peppermint extract the next time I make this and try it with the vanilla baking chips. The fudge has a similar taste to candy cane hershey kisses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by courtbake87

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by armygirl207
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
It was a simple recipe and made for a good Christmas party treat. It was a little chewy, where I expected more of a thick fudge like texture. I only used 1 cup of candy canes (because thats all I had, I didnt realize 3/4 of a box of mini canes would make so little) but it was plenty. Out of that 1 cup I saved a little bit to layer the top with and I am glad that I did. I took the advice of others on here and didnt add the food coloring until I put it in the pan, then I dropped it in small drops and swirled it. I liked the look of that better then it being all pink. Other then that it was a pretty good recipe and makes a really good addition to a cookie platter for a holiday get together. My only advice is cut the squares pretty small, it is a very rich sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by armygirl207

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bend, Oregon, USA
Living In: Fort Eustis, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
yum! I made this to gift to my kids' teachers but had to sneak a couple of pieces for myself. I added the extra 1/2 tsp others recommended but I thought that it could have used another 1/2 tsp still.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by newivi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
Recipe turned out so good. Just like real fudge with WAY less work. This is going to be made again next year!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bethface

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
The taste of this 'fudge' was ok, the texture was so dry and crumbly that I would not serve it at the party I planned on bringing it to. I would highly recommend NOT using Ghiradelli classic WHITE chips for this particular recipe. I think that is the reason for the dryness of this fudge, (for me). Fudge should be creamy and kind of melt in your mouth, not dry and crumbly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellydancer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Traverse City, Michigan, USA
Photo by abapplez
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
Not what I expected... Not really a "fudge" texture or consistency. After reading the reviews, I noticed that one member described the texture as "fondant" like. This is a very good description. The taste is okay, maybe a little more extract? I enjoyed trying a new recipe. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abapplez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
I changed two things...I added another 1/2 tsp. of peppermint extract and I used white chocolate chips because I've never heard of nor could I find vanilla chips! I personally don't like white chocolate so this wasn't a big hit for me, but others loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooke

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Aitkin, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
Very easy to make . . . looks festive and tastes good! Not too much peppermint flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 297) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Decorate a Candy Cane Cake

This festive candy cane cake will delight your holiday guests.

Candy Cane Cookies II

Candy cane-shaped Christmas cookies decorated with crushed peppermint candies.

World's Best Peanut Fudge

See how to make a rich-and-creamy peanut butter fudge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States