Candy Cane Fudge Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
Oh YUM! This was absolutely FANTASTIC!!! I needed a homemade gift for our groomer, but didn't have much time to prepare an elaborate one. I've had this recipe filed away in my "maybe" folder for quite some time and decided this year was THE year to give it a try! :) I did make a couple of (minor) changes but am sure this would have been delicious as is. As many others did, I also gently folded the food coloring into my fudge. I think I swirled it a *tad* too much tho, because my fudge was ever so slightly pinkish in color (but that was fine by me). I only used 1 c. of crushed candy canes in the actual fudge itself and reserved the remaining 1/2 c. for the top. My final change was to drizzle some melted Andes mint chips over everything PRIOR to placing in the fridge to "set." A holiday themed Wilton box tied with festive ribbon sealed the deal! Thanks SO much for sharing your recipe, Tina Marie! This will be added to my holiday cookie trays for years to come. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
I didn't care for this too much but all the rest of my family liked it. The white part was not very tasty, in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
I made this earlier in the week. After it sat in the fridge for the specified amount of time, my husband and I tried it and thought it was "okay". Now it's 4-5 days later and it has been in the fridge all week. I sat some out today because we had company coming. Now that the flavors have melded together, it is great......the texture is just like fudge should be and the candy has partially melted but still crunchy. Everyone liked it. It will be added to my yearly candy making list for X-MAS. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda M

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greenwood, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
I really enjoyed making this but not sure if the consistency was right in the end! It seems very sticky - how can I present it to someone as a gift?! It still tastes amazing though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Amanda P
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
This has become a family favorite of ours for the last 3 years! I prefer making it with one bag of milk chocolate and one bag of white chocolate chips, (no need for food coloring in that version). I find it sets to a better consistancy for our tastes. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda P

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Photo by hbebout
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
This candy cane fudge is soooo good!!! I made it for a Christmas party because it was fast and easy. I have had 5 people ask me for the recipe! I used the Herseys vanilla chips...I think they have the best flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hbebout

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ogden, Utah, USA
Living In: Schuyler, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
I made this last year for Christmas and everyone loved. Instead of putting it into a pan and cutting it, I lined my mini cupcake pan with cute liners and spooned the fudge into that. I put it into the fridge to set up and they turned out beautiful. I did omit the red food colouring, but I think I will try it out this year. I also just crushed and sprinkled the candy canes on top instead of mixing them in. I gave this recipe to a friend and she used the red food colouring and said it turned out really well when she swirled it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
I just wanted to point out if you're in a pinch financially (like me) and need a baked goods item that yields a lot for a very small price to give as Christmas gifts, this recipe is for YOU! I made tons of it last year and bought little decorative boxes to gift them in -- The boxes were more expensive than the ingredients! I made it exactly as the recipe states and had no trouble. It is VERY rich and filling to eat. It's versatile enough that you can add more or less peppermint depending on your personal preferences. I also made half of the pan swirled with red food coloring and the other half swirled with green, looked so cute! I'm definitely going to make it again this year, and was even requested to do so!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Boy-ar-YUM :)

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Shoreline, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2012
I made this near the holidays for my coworkers. It was very easy to make, except for crushing the candy canes. I skipped the food coloring, because the candycanes were pretty enough. This made some SUPER sweet fudge, and I couldn't eat more than one piece because of that. But, everyone else finished it off!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lauraritchey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Santa Maria, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
Was not super inpressed. Too much candy cane for my taste. Was really thick and hard to work with. Tasted fine, just thought it could have used less candy cane.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by darthotto

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 300) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Decorate a Candy Cane Cake

This festive candy cane cake will delight your holiday guests.

Candy Cane Cookies II

Candy cane-shaped Christmas cookies decorated with crushed peppermint candies.

World's Best Peanut Fudge

See how to make a rich-and-creamy peanut butter fudge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States