Candy Cane Fudge Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Photo by JOSEPHINE ♥ ALLRECIPES
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
Easy to make and very festive. As for the taste, I'll update my review after tasting these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
I didn't see vanilla chips, so I bought and made these with almond bark, but it didn't thicken up enough. They were too soft, but they were super super sweet! (silver lining--I was satisfied with tiny bite size servings)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
I made this for a cookie exchange party and it received rave reviews! I only added 1 cup of candy canes because that's all I had and did a swirl effect with the red food coloring. It came out pretty and was yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
This was just ok. I really wanted to like this recipe. But the sweetened condense milk was too overpowering. I bake at every work function and the recipes are always requested. This one was not requested and was not finished. I threw half of it away. On a positive note it was pretty to look at it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hatts

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allen, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
Great recipe! Easy to follow with awesome results. My family lovessss it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bennington, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
I tried to make this and it came out okay. It was soft and sticky like thick frosting but I read elsewhere that I might not have cooked it long enough so now I'm trying to fix it. Hope this works! :fingers crossed:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Wakefield, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
Made this tonight for my hubby to share with coworkers for Christmas. Unfortunately, when I went to the store, they were out of peppermint extract. I bought cinnamon extract and used that instead with the round cinnamon discs crushed up (same measurements as if it had been peppermint). It turned out so yummy! Super easy and quick to make and oh so delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
I hate to see all the negative reviews on this, but I get it. It's not for everyone. I made this last year and made it again because I am one of the people who really enjoys it! Last year my husband accidentally bought the old-fashioned candy canes, which are softer, almost like dinner mint-consistency. They are the thick sticks about 5 inches long. I haven't tried it with the harder, starlight-type candy canes, and I probably won't because I like it with the sticks. Last year I doubled the peppermint in it and I thought it was too minty. This year I followed the directions exactly, with the exception of using old-fashioned candy canes, and I thought it was perfect. My father-in-law loved it, my husband didn't; half my daughter's friends (sixth graders) loved it, the other half didn't. My son likes it but doesn't love it. This is not a soft, creamy-type fudge, it does work out to be more like candy, as someone else said. I think it tastes a lot like a dinner mint and I love those, so I'll continue to make this every holiday. For those who think it's not minty enough, maybe go up to 3/4 tsp of peppermint extract. I like the subtle minty flavor with 1/2 tsp myself. Couldn't be easier, no boiling or painful candy burns! Four stars easy. Would give five if it turned out more like traditional fudge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
Mmmmmm.... so good. I just finished a test batch of the fudge to give away as holiday treats, and I'm loving them. I might have to give it away today,before I eat the whole pan full. I made it almost exactly as written, except for the food coloring. i first put the chocolate mixture into the dish, then put 5 scattered dots of red coloring, then swirled then. Very pretty presentation. I did also sprinkle a few pieces of the crushed candy canes on top before chilling. I might omit this next time though. A little too much crunch as per hubby's remarks. All in all.... easy and inexpensive. Will definitely be using this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
This was very disappointing, the texture came out fine, it just taste like white chocolate chips with candy cane pieces, nothing spectacular that warrants the high ratings. Maybe additional peppermint extract should be added for more peppermint flavor. I would not make this again, I feel I wasted my time and money on something that was not very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 297) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Decorate a Candy Cane Cake

This festive candy cane cake will delight your holiday guests.

Candy Cane Cookies II

Candy cane-shaped Christmas cookies decorated with crushed peppermint candies.

World's Best Peanut Fudge

See how to make a rich-and-creamy peanut butter fudge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States