Candy Cane Cookies from Gold Medal® Flour Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
My family loves making these! I didn't change anything with this recipe. They come out so soft and fluffy every time too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
I really liked the taste of the cookies but the dough was really hard to work with, to twist the way they showed in the picture. So, to make this easier for my 5 year old and I we just mushed the two colors together and rolled into a candy cane shape, so the cookies had a swirled look, not as candy cane striped, but still cute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
This is a great recipe. I had to use wax paper with some flour strewn across it before taking the dough and shaping it into the cane shapes. These are very flimsy and fall apart easily- do NOT add more flour to the recipe- it is supposed to be difficult to work with but just roll lightly in flour on wax paper and quickly transfer to the cookie sheet. I found that worked best for me. First time making these and worked really well. Have to work fast but it's worth it. Very buttery and tasty! Will be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
What a great recipe. We did not have any peppermint oil since the stores were all out on christmas eve. Used more vanilla instead. We melted some andes mints and drizzled them across the cookies instead. This dough was so good it almost did not make it into cookie form - seriously! Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mom_of_one_picky_kid

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockdale, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
These were a little challenging to make but once you get the hang of them it goes fast. Made them for St. Nick Day get hit! Left the peppermint out of some just did vanilla only still tasted good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shaker Heights, Ohio, USA
Living In: University Heights, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
I did this one for Christmas this year, and since there are not many people in my family that likes peppermint I substituted it with root beer extract, though I am sure any flavor of your choice would be jest as good. We where pleasantly surprised how good this recipe tasted! A real Christmas treat! I just went ahead and made 2 batches (one red one green; white is boring) and they where great! A return for next year! Thanks a lot! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lain86

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
Well, I don't know quite what to make of this recipe. The cookies were delicious, and absolutely adorable, but so hard to make. I made them yesterday, and formed them today. One hour? Bologna!!! Must've taken three hours! The dough was flimsy and sticky, and hard to work with. However, they were overall delicious and cute, so I would recommend other to make these, but only if you have between 2 and 4 hours. Also, I didn't add the peppermint, cause we didn't have any. I added almond extract and it was WONDERFUL.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eponine

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
This dough is missing something, or has too much of something. I'm thinking both. I'm thinking the cream was not needed. I'm thinking it needed at LEAST another cup of flour. It chilled in my fridge for 3 days before I finally got around to being able to shape them. I had hoped this would be a fun baking project for me and my kids. But this dough was way too frustrating to work with for kids. It's very flimsy and sticky. Even with coating our hands, surface, and lightly dusting the dough with flour, it stuck to everything. When we would finally get a little bit rolled into a couple tubes, it would fall apart when trying to twist it. I gave up after the second candy cane. So then we tried rolling both colors out with a rolling pin thinking we would put one on top of the other, and then roll together and cut into slices so they would look like peppermint hard candies, but the dough stuck to the wax paper we were rolling it on. We tried using a butter knife to separate it and it would stick to the knife. We finally just rolled the dough into little solid color balls, using lots of flour to minimize sticking (too much flour), and baked them that way. The results were really flat, flaky, crumbly cookies. They taste okay, though they seem a bit too rich to me. But the consistency is all wrong. Next time I'll just use my old tried and true sugar cookie recipe and flavor it. If I could give this zero stars I would.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
The smell brought me back to my mom making these when I was young! I thought the ratios were great. Made a wonderful dough, and when baked the texture was perfect! My ONLY suggestion, was that the peppermint flavour was too faint. I will double peppermint next time. I will definitely make these again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shandy B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
I really liked the flavor of this cookie. It was very buttery and tender, like a really good shortbread (but mint flavored). But it was a very difficult dough to work with. It rolled out fine on a floured surface but when I twisted the two colors it was so fragile it kept breaking. After cooking it was the same; so tender that it broke and crumbled when taking off the pan. We ended up eating a bowl full of crumbles. I think a recipe like this needs a sturdier dough. If you do make it, keep the cookies small and stout so they are less likely to break. I ended up taking the remaining dough, making six mini-logs and combining into one large roll. Then I froze and cut into slices (about 3/4 to 1 inch thick), making circle pin-wheel shapes. These cooked up nicely and were SO much easier to do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Candy Cane Cookies II

Candy cane-shaped Christmas cookies decorated with crushed peppermint candies.

Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to bake the perfect chocolate chip cookie.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States