Candy Cane Cookies III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
Christmas recipe that is awesome to do with the kiddos!! These are super fun to have them make for their parents at Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2014
Very good recipe. The peppermint flavor wasn't overpowering. Will definitely make again. The only thing I modified was adding another color (green) to the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
Tastes yummy but mine were not as pretty as the pictures!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
These cookies are so hard to make and quite honestly don't have much taste to them. Definitely not worth the work
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
My boys (8 and 10) tried this recipe today. They love to make the candy canes. Unfortunately the dough was so floppy it was very hard to roll into the candy canes. I debated on if I should use butter in sted of margarine. I think that was the key. Butter would have firmed up in the frig better. Tasted okay. But not fun to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
I made 1/2 of this recipe and it was fantastic. However, I didn't have peppermint extract, or almond extract, so I used 5 Santa's Treats mini candy canes for the dough. I also used 5 of the same candy canes for the sugar mixture. The dough will taste sort of like candy canes, but will have dough taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
My grandma made this a little different. She didn't add the peppermint extract or the crushed candy canes. Instead, she just dipped them in sugar right from the oven. It's just like sugar cookies that look like candy canes. I love them this way! My grandma got the recipe from Betty crocker's cooky book 1963.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
I baked these cookies pretty much as given, except that I used all butter, instead of margarine, and I used all vanilla flavoring. I also found that 4-5 inch worms worked the best. There was no way I could have rolled the cookies in the sugar/peppermint candy mixture when they were warm. They would have broken up. I sprinkled some of the sugar/peppermint on them, instead. If I were to do it again, I'd actually skip crushing the peppermint candy. I might sprinkle the cookies very lightly with granulated sugar when warm, but I might not even do that. I thought that the cookies tasted very good on their own. They were also very colorful. They are somewhat time-consuming, but great to make with grand children who like to be actively involved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
For those of you who had trouble rolling them out, try this: Keep dough in fridge. Only pinch off enough for 2 candy canes at a time, be sure to roll on lightly floured surface. For quicker and easier candy caned take your two colors, enough for 2 canes, place them side by side and roll them together. You will have a rope 1/2 red and 1/2 white. Make your rope 4", cut in half and twist the dough like another suggestion, ends opposite way, you will have the same effect with less hassle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
The directions were not very helpful. The dough was very sticky and I had to look up another recipe to find that you need to roll the dough with flour. "Rolling" the candy canes in the peppermint/sugar topping was not easy. I just ended up sprinkling it on top and it didn't even stick to the cookies. They taste ok and look cute, but not worth the effort!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Candy Cane Cookies II

Candy cane-shaped Christmas cookies decorated with crushed peppermint candies.

How to Decorate a Candy Cane Cake

This festive candy cane cake will delight your holiday guests.

Rainbow Cookies

See how to make moist, layered cookies loaded with almond flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States